Pro Ambitions All-Rookie Team (from left to right): Tomáš Vomáčka, Marc Del Gaizo, Jack Dugan, Joel Farabee, Chase Gresock and Tyler Madden
Hockey East Names 2018-19 Pro Ambitions All-Rookie Team
Six Other Award Winners Announced Ahead of 35th Annual Championship

WAKEFIELD, Mass. - The Hockey East Association today announced the 2018-19 Pro Ambitions All-Rookie Team and six other season- long awards as voted by the league's 11 head coaches in advance of the 2019 Hockey East Championship, March 22 and 23, at TD Garden. The honorees will be recognized at Thursday night's annual awards banquet.

The 2018-19 Pro Ambitions All-Rookie Team consists of six players and includes goaltender Tomáš Vomáčka (Trutnov, Czech Republic/ UConn), defenseman Marc Del Gaizo (Basking Ridge, N.J./Massachusetts) and four forwards, including Jack Dugan (Rochester, N.Y./Providence), Joel Farabee (Cicero, N.Y./Boston University), Chase Gresock (Powell, Ohio/Merrimack, and the lone unanimous selection in Northeastern's Tyler Madden (Deerfield Beach, Fla.)

Also set to be recognized at Thursday night's ceremonies will be a pair of defensive awards, as Providence senior Vincent Desharnais (Laval, Que.) has been named the '47 Brand Best Defensive Defenseman and Maine junior Chase Pearson (Alpharetta, Ga.) was voted as the Gladiator Custom Mouthguards Best Defensive Forward. Two statistical awards will also be handed out, including the league's top scorer in Massachusetts sophomore Mitchell Chaffee (Rockford, Mich./9g, 22a, 31p) and Hockey East Three Stars champion in Northeastern sophomore goaltender Cayden Primeau (Voorhees, N.J.)

Hockey East's two sportsmanship awards will be bestowed upon the same recipients as a year ago, as Providence junior defenseman Jacob Bryson (London, Ont.) will be presented with the Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award and the UMass Lowell River Hawks will be acknowledged with the Charlie Holt Team Sportsmanship Award for accruing the fewest penalty minutes in Hockey East games.

The 35th Hockey East Tournament championship will take place this weekend, Friday, March 22, and Saturday, March 23, at the TD Garden in Boston. No. 3 Northeastern will square off with No. 5 Boston University Friday at 4 p.m., while No. 1 Massachusetts and No. 7 Boston College take the ice at 7:30 p.m. The winners advance to Saturday's championship tilt at 7 p.m. Fans can purchase tickets online at or by calling 800-745-3000.

playerPro Ambitions All-Rookie Team

G: Tomáš Vomáčka, UConn
D: Marc Del Gaizo, Massachusetts
F: Jack Dugan, Providence
F: Joel Farabee, Boston University
F: Chase Gresock, Merrimack
F: Tyler Madden, Northeastern *

* denotes unanimous selection

player Hockey East Three Stars Award

Cayden Primeau, Northeastern
(So., G; Voorhees, N.J.)

David Cotton, Boston College
(Jr., Parker, Texas)

player'47 Brand Best Defensive Defenseman Award

Vincent Desharnais, Providence
(Sr., Laval, Que.)

Ryan Shea, Northeastern
(Jr., Milton, Mass.)

playerHockey East Scoring Champion

Mitchell Chaffee, Massachusetts
(So., F; Rockford, Mich.)
9g, 22a, 31p

Cale Makar, Massachusetts
(So., D; Calgary, Alta.)
8g, 22a, 30p

playerGladiator Custom Mouthguards Best Defensive Forward Award

Chase Pearson, Maine
(Jr., Alpharetta, Ga.)

Kasper Björkqvist, Providence
(Jr., Espoo, Finland)

playerLen Ceglarski Individual Sportsmanship Award

Jacob Bryson, Providence
(Jr., D; London, Ont.)

Charlie Kelleher, New Hampshire
(So., F; Longmeadow, Mass.)

playerCharlie Holt Team Sportsmanship Award

UMass Lowell River Hawks

Providence Friars