Hockey East
Eric Haugen Named Recipient of Joe Concannon Award
NESN's Senior Director of Multi-Platform Programming Honored By Hockey East

BOSTON, Mass. – The Hockey East Association announced today that Eric Haugen has been named the recipient of the 2023 Joe Concannon Award. Haugen accepted his award as part of the league’s media day, held at TD Garden. The prestigious honor, named in 2001 in memory of beloved Boston Globe sportswriter Joe Concannon, is presented to an individual who has demonstrated an outstanding body of work in covering and/or promoting the interests of the Hockey East Association.

Haugen currently serves as Senior Director, Multi-Platform Programming at NESN. His duties include day-to-day oversight of scheduling for all NESN-affiliated networks, rights acquisition across NESN platforms, and relationship management with NESN’s college and minor pro partners. He also contributes to the planning for NESN’s Red Sox and Bruins shoulder programming and oversees coverage of the network’s non-pro live events.

Since joining NESN in 2010, Haugen has expanded the network’s relationship with Hockey East through innovations like flex scheduling, the creation of new telecast windows beyond the league’s traditional Friday night presence, and the integration of Hockey East content into NESN’s Bruins coverage.

Before joining NESN, Haugen spent four years in programming at the NHL league office and did a two-year stint at NFL Films/NFL Network. He began his career at ESPN, where he rose quickly through the ranks before spending two years as a producer on SportsCenter and Baseball Tonight.

A Minnesota native who graduated from Princeton University, Haugen lives with his wife and daughter in Bedford, Massachusetts.

Joe Concannon Hockey East Media Award History
Year Recipient, Affiliation
1992 Larry Mahoney, Bangor Daily News
1993 Bob Whitelaw, New England Sports Network
1994 Bob Monahan, Boston Globe
1995 John Connolly, Boston Herald
1996 Charles Scoggins, Lowell Sun
1997 Bob Norton, New England Sports Network
1998 Joe Concannon, Boston Globe
1999 Dick Osborne, UNH Sports Network
2000 Bill Doherty, Huskies Radio
2001 Dave Hendrickson, U.S. College Hockey Online
2002 Roger Brown, Portsmouth Herald
2003 Bernie Corbett, Giant Sports Associates
2004 Rob Rudnick, Huskies Radio
2005 Eric Frede, NESN / CodRock Media
2006 Dan Hannigan, Maine Radio / CodRock Media
2007 Allen Lessels, New Hampshire Union Leader
2008 Mike Logan, Providence College Radio
2009 Bob Ellis, UMass Lowell Radio
2010 Brock Hines, UMass Sports Network
2011 Mike Machnik, Merrimack Radio, CHN & USCHO
2012 Jim Connelly, U.S. College Hockey Online (USCHO)
2013 Dan Parkhurst, UNH Radio/TV & Merrimack Radio
2014 Pete Webster, UNH Wildcat Sports Radio Network
2015 Nancy Marrapese-Burrell, The Boston Globe
2016 Ted Ryan, Burlington Free Press
2017 Pete Souris, New Hampshire/Hockey East/UMass Lowell
2018 Tom Caron, NESN
2019 Mark Divver, Providence Journal/USCHO//
2022 Joe Bertagna, Hockey East/AHCA
2023 Eric Haugen, NESN