Northeastern’s Devon Levi Wins 2022 Mike Richter Award
Hockey East netminders have earned five of the first nine Richter Awards

BOSTON, MA — Northeastern University sophomore Devon Levi is the 2022 recipient of the Mike Richter Award, given annually to the top goalie in men’s NCAA Division I ice hockey. The announcement was made tonight by the Hockey Commissioners Association (HCA), sponsor of the award.

Levi re-wrote the Northeastern goaltending record book in a season in which he led the NCAA with a save percentage of .952 (tied for second in NCAA history) and took the Huskies to their first ever Hockey East regular-season title on the last day of the season. He finished the year with a goals against average of 1.54 and delivered a school record 10 shutouts. All three of these are “bests” in Northeastern’s storied goaltending history. For these efforts, he was named a Hobey Baker Award Top Ten Finalist.

The other finalists for this year’s Richter Award were Quinnipiac University sophomore Yaniv Perets and Minnesota State senior Dryden McKay.

Mike Richter enjoyed a phenomenal playing career, highlighted by 14 seasons with the New York Rangers, leading them to the Stanley Cup in 1994, their first in 54 years. A member of the Hall of Fame, Richter was outstanding on a number of USA Hockey Teams, most notably the 1988 Olympic Team, the 1991 Canada Cup Team and as the MVP of the 1996 World Cup of Hockey. Mike also played at the University of Wisconsin and earned a degree from Yale University.

Recipients of the Mike Richter Award
Year Recipient/Institution
2014 Connor Hellebuyck, UMass Lowell
2015 Zane McIntyre, North Dakota
2016 Thatcher Demko, Boston College
2017 Tanner Jaillet, Denver
2018 Cale Morris, Notre Dame
2019 Cayden Primeau, Northeastern
2020 Jeremy Swayman, Maine
2021 Jack LaFontaine, Minnesota
2022 Devon Levi, Northeastern