Former Northeastern standout Kendall Coyne-Schofield captained PWHL Minnesota to the 2024 Walter Cup
Four Alumnae Crowned Inaugural PWHL Champions
PWHL Minnesota Triumphed Over PWHL Boston

AMESBURY, Mass. – Four alumnae of the Hockey East Association claimed the 2024 Walter Cup, winning the inaugural playoff tournament of the Professional Women’s Hockey League with PWHL Minnesota. The champions include captain Kendall Coyne-Schofield (Northeastern, 2011-16), Denisa Krizova (Northeastern 2014-18), Dominique Kremer (Merrimack, 2015-19), and Michela Cava (UConn, 2012-14).

In total, Hockey East claimed 39 league alumnae named to inaugural PWHL rosters during the 2024 season. The 39 players represent nine of the 10 Hockey East programs, led by Boston University (9), Northeastern (9), and Boston College (6). UConn has five, Merrimack and Vermont each boast three, and Maine, New Hampshire, and Providence send two alumnae to the PWHL. Two players skated for multiple Hockey East programs.

In September, Hockey East saw 20 products selected in the inaugural draft while five alumnae signed during the league’s free agency period, including Alex Carpenter (Boston College/New York), Kendall Coyne-Schofield (Northeastern/Minnesota), Aerin Frankel (Northeastern/Boston), Megan Keller (Boston College/Boston), and Marie-Philip Poulin (Boston University/Montreal).

Each of the original six PWHL programs suited up at least four Hockey East products in 2024, paced by eight on Boston, seven on on Montreal and Toronto, six each on New York and Ottawa, and five on Minnesota. The 2024 PWHL Entry Draft and 2024 PWHL Awards will take place June 10-11 in downtown Saint Paul, Minnesota. The PWHL Draft will be held on Monday, June 10, at 7:00 p.m. ET while the PWHL Awards will be held on Tuesday, June 11, at 1:30 p.m. ET.


The Professional Women’s Hockey League (PWHL) is a professional ice hockey league in North America comprised of six teams in Boston, Minnesota, Montréal, New York, Ottawa, and Toronto, each with rosters featuring the best women’s hockey players in the world. Launched on Jan. 1, 2024, the PWHL has broken multiple atten- dance records and holds the worldwide all-time record for a women’s hockey game. Visit to purchase tickets and merchandise, and subscribe to the PWHL e-newsletter to receive the latest league updates. Follow the league on all social media platforms @thepwhlofficial plus all six team accounts @pwhl_boston, @ pwhl_minnesota, @pwhl_montreal, @pwhl_newyork, @pwhl_ottawa, and @pwhl_toronto.