Hockey East Names 2021-22 Women's All-Star Teams
League Honors Two All-Star Teams During 20th Annual Tournament Celebration

AMESBURY, Mass. - The Hockey East Association today announced its 2021-22 Women’s All-Star Teams as voted by the women’s league’s 10 head coaches as part of the celebration of the 20th annual Hockey East Tournament. Vermont senior forward Theresa Schafzahl (Weiz, Austria) was the lone player was selected unanimously as All-Hockey East First Team. Joining Schafzahl on the the First Team are goaltender Aerin Frankel (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y./Northeastern), defensemen Skylar Fontaine (East Greenwich, R.I./Northeastern) and Maude Poulin-Labelle (Sherbrooke, Que./Vermont) and forwards Hannah Bilka (Coppell, Texas/Boston College) and Maureen Murphy (Buffalo, N.Y./Northeastern). Frankel is once again honored as BW Windjammer Goaltender of the Year for her achievement.

Named All-Hockey East Second Team are goaltenders Sandra Abstreiter (Freising, Germany/Providence) and Loryn Porter (North Bay, Ont./Maine), defensemen Brooke Hobson (Prince Albert, Sask./Northeastern) and Taylor Wabick (Winnipeg, Man./UConn) and forwards Chloé Aurard (Villard-de-Lans, France), Alina Mueller (Winterthur, Switzerland.) and Kristina Shanahan (Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, Que./Vermont).

Getting nods as All-Star Honorable Mentions in 2021-22 was reigning Pro Ambitions Rookie of the Year, Vermont goaltender Jessie McPherson (Chatham, Ont.), alongside defenseman Megan Carter (Milton, Ont./Northeastern) and forwards Kelly Browne (Burlington, Mass./Boston College) and Natalie Snodgrass (Eagan, Minn./UConn.)

The 2022 Hockey East Women’s Tournament continues with quarterfinals on Friday, February 25 and Saturday, February 26 at the campus of the top four seeds. Semifinals are slated to take place on Wednesday, March 2 with the championship game held on Saturday, March 5 to determine the winner of the 2022 Bertagna Trophy and an automatic berth into the National Championship Tournament. For a full schedule and television information, visit

Hockey East will announce finalists for the Player, Rookie, and Coach of the Year awards on Monday, February 28 at 11:00 a.m. The winners of those awards will then be revealed prior to the semifinals on Wednesday, March 2.


First-Team All-Stars

G: Aerin Frankel, Northeastern, GR
D: Skylar Fontaine, Northeastern, GR
D: Maude Poulin-Labelle, Vermont, SR
F: Hannah Bilka, Boston College, JR
F: Maureen Murphy, Northeastern, GR
F: Theresa Schafzahl, Vermont, SR *
*denotes unanimous selection

Second-Team All-Stars

G: Sandra Abstreiter, Providence, GR
G: Loryn Porter, Maine, GR
D: Brooke Hobson, Northeastern, GR
D: Taylor Wabick, UConn, GR
F: Chloe Aurard, Northeastern, SR
F: Alina Mueller, Northeastern, SR
F: Kristina Shanahan, Vermont, GR

All-Star Honorable Mention

G: Jessie McPherson, Vermont, SO
D: Megan Carter, Northeastern, JR
F: Kelly Browne, Boston College, SR
F: Natalie Snodgrass, UConn, GR