Hockey East Names 2020-21 Women's All-Star Teams
League Honors Three All-Star Teams During 19th Annual Tournament

WAKEFIELD, Mass. - The Hockey East Association announced its 2020-21 Women’s All-Star Teams as voted by the women’s league’s 10 head coaches as part of the celebration of the 19th annual Hockey East Tournament.

Two players were selected unanimously as 2020-21 Hockey East First Team All-Stars, including Northeastern senior defenseman Skylar Fontaine (East Greenwich, R.I.) and her teammate junior forward Alina Mueller (Winterthur, Switzerland.) First Team selections were rounded out by Huskies’ junior forward Chloé Aurard (Villard-de-Lans, France) and a Boston College junior duo in defenseman Cayla Barnes (Eastvale, Calif.) and forward Kelly Browne (Burlington, Mass.) Northeastern senior goaltender Aerin Frankel (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.), named to the first team for the third year in a row, also collected accolades as the Best Western Windjammer Goaltender of the Year.

Comprising the Hockey East All-Star Second Team are goaltender Loryn Porter (North Bay, Ont./Maine), defensemen Brooke Hobson (Prince Albert, Sask./Northeastern) and Maude Poulin-Labelle (Sherbrooke, Que./Vermont), and forwards Jesse Compher (Northbrook, Ill./Boston University), Sara Hjalmarsson (Bankeryd, Sweden/Providence), and Ida Kuoppala (Pedersore, Finland//Maine.)

For just the third time ever, Hockey East has named an All-Star Third Team, including goaltender Sandra Abstreiter (Freising, Germany/Providence), defensemen Lauren DeBlois (Lewiston, Maine/Providence) and Antonia Matzka (Mödling, Austria/Holy Cross), and forwards Hannah Bilka (Coppell, Texas/Boston College), Maureen Murphy (Buffalo, N.Y./Northeastern), and Natalie Snodgrass (Eagan, Minn./UConn.).

The 2021 Women’s Tournament continues with quarterfinals on Sunday, February 28 at the campus of the higher seeds. Semifinals are slated to take place on Wednesday, March 3 with the championship game held on Saturday, March 6 to determine the winner of the 2021 Bertagna Trophy and an automatic berth into the National Championship Tournament. For a full schedule and television information, visit

Hockey East will announce finalists for the Player, Rookie, and Coach of the Year awards on Monday, March 1 at 1:00 p.m. The winners of those awards will then be revealed prior to the semifinals on Wednesday, March 3.


First-Team All-Stars

G: Aerin Frankel, Senior, Northeastern
D: Cayla Barnes, Junior, Boston College
D: Skylar Fontaine, Senior, Northeastern *
F: Chloé Aurard, Junior, Northeastern
F: Kelly Browne, Junior, Boston College
F: Alina Mueller, Junior, Northeastern *
*denotes unanimous selection

Second-Team All-Stars

G: Loryn Porter, Senior, Maine
D: Brooke Hobson, Senior, Northeastern
D: Maude Poulin-Labelle, Junior, Vermont
F: Jesse Compher, Senior, Boston University
F: Sara Hjalmarsson, Junior, Providence
F: Ida Kuoppala, Sophomore, Maine

Third-Team All-Stars

G: Sandra Abstreiter, Senior, Providence
D: Lauren DeBlois, Sophomore, Providence
D: Antonia Matzka, Senior, Holy Cross
F: Hannah Bilka, Sophomore, Boston College
F: Maureen Murphy, Junior, Northeastern
F: Natalie Snodgrass, Senior, UConn

2021 Hockey East Women’s Tournament Schedule
Day Date Away Home Time TV/Streaming
Sun. Feb. 28 #6 Boston University #3 Providence 1:00 p.m. SportsLive
Sun. Feb. 28 #5 Maine #4 Vermont 2:00 p.m. SportsLive
Sun. Feb. 28 #7 UConn #2 Boston College 4:30 p.m. NESN (inside NE)
SportsLive (outside NE)
Sun. Feb. 28 #8 New Hampshire #1 Northeastern 7:00 p.m. NESN (inside NE)
SportsLive (outside NE)
Wed. March 3 Semifinal #1 TBA TBA
Wed. March 3 Semifinal #2 TBA TBA
Sat. March 6 Championship Game TBA TBA