About Hockey East


The Hockey East Association enters its 37th season on the ice in 2020-21 as it has consistently proven as the strongest NCAA Division I college hockey conference from top to bottom, boasting 115 NCAA Tournament berth teams, more than any other conference since Hockey East's inception. More recently, Hockey East led the way at the June 2019 NHL Draft where more of its athletes, current and committed, were chosen than any other conference.

Hockey East has seen a steady rise to prominence since its founding charter on July 11, 1983, when the possibility of an apparent Ivy League departure threatened the ECAC. In response, the athletics directors from Boston College, Boston University, New Hampshire, Northeastern and Providence unveiled a new Division I men's ice hockey conference. Together, Bill Flynn of Boston College, John Simpson of Boston University, Andy Mooradian of New Hampshire, Joe Zabilski of Northeastern and Lou Lamoriello of Providence launched Hockey East with Lamoriello assuming the role of the league's first commissioner.

Later that summer, the Board of Directors added the University of Maine and the University of Lowell (now UMass Lowell). Official conference competition of the seven-team league began with the 1984-85 season. Soon after, the league expanded to nine teams with the additions of Merrimack College (1989) and the University of Massachusetts (1993). The entry of the University of Vermont for the 2005-06 season raised the conference membership to 10 teams before the University of Notre Dame was accepted as the league's 11th member on October 5, 2011. The Fighting Irish started Hockey East play in 2013-14, the season before Hockey East's newest program, the University of Connecticut, began play.

Hockey East has set new competitive standards for college hockey success, annually compiling an impressive collective winning percentage against non-conference opponents, including a record .705 during the 2002-03 season and a .669 win percentage during the 25th anniversary season of 2008-09.

Since its inception in 1984, Hockey East has sent 115 teams to the NCAA Tournament, more than any other conference in that span. Over the last 25 years, Hockey East has cemented itself as the nation's elite college hockey league, having earned 36 of the 100 berths in the NCAA Frozen Four and boasting nine NCAA title winners: the University of Maine in 1993 and 1999, Boston University in 1995 and 2009, Boston College in 2001, 2008, 2010 and 2012 and Providence College in 2015.

In its most impressive NCAA postseason showing, Hockey East boasted three of the four Frozen Four participants in 1999, as Maine triumphed over UNH, 3-2, in overtime in an All-Hockey East final, the second time in five seasons that had occurred. Hockey East sent three teams to the NCAA Tournament in 2018, marking 15 times in the last 16 seasons that three or more Hockey East teams have qualified. In 2015, two of those squads, Boston University and Providence, clashed in the NCAA title game at the TD Garden in Boston, Massachusetts.

Hockey East has proven to be an equally strong presence off the ice and in the classroom. League athletes continue to demonstrate their commitment to overall excellence, as the Hockey East All-Academic Team honored 161 student-athletes for outstanding academic achievement during the 2018-19 academic year, including four players with perfect 4.0 GPAs.

Hockey East athletes also make a positive impact on many community service programs across the region, volunteering with youth hockey associations and community service organizations. Six Hockey East athletes have received the prestigious Hockey Humanitarian Award, while 10 others have been finalists for the honor including Notre Dame's Anders Bjork and Merrimack's Collin Delia in 2017. However, it is the quality of its individual players as leading athletes that most sets Hockey East apart from the rest.

Eleven Hockey East players have won the Hobey Baker Memorial Award as the top player in college hockey, most recently Massachusetts' sophomore defenseman Cale Makar in 2019, the first Minuteman to claim the nation's highest individual honor. Dozens more have been named as finalists and hundreds of other Hockey East players have moved on to play in the NHL.

A total of 695 Hockey East student-athletes have been selected in the NHL Entry Draft in the 36-year history of the league, and 96 Hockey East alumni appeared on NHL rosters in 2018-19, more than any other college hockey conference. That number is 16 more than the second place team and nearly double that of the next-closest conference.

In 2019, the Stanley Cup Champion St. Louis Blues were peppered with Hockey East talent. Boston College's Zach Sanford (2014-16) has appeared in 60 games for St. Louis this season a nd in three games during the Blues' playoff run. In the front office, the Blues carry Amateur Scout Keith Tkachuk (Boston University, 1990-91). St. Louis also has four players in their minor league system who were developed in Hockey East, including Bryan Flynn (Maine, 2008-12), Erik Foley (Providence, 2015- 18), Nolan Stevens (Northeastern, 2014-18), and Jake Walman (Providence, 2014-17.)

The reach of Hockey East continues to grow as new state-of- the-art facilities are constructed, increasing capacities and amenities for college hockey fans. In turn, fans have responded with over one million spectators coming out to watch Hockey East teams during the 2018-19 season for the 14th consecutive year.


Hockey East Association
591 North Ave #2
Wakefield, MA 01880

E-mail: info@hockeyeastonline.com
E-mails will be forwarded to appropriate person


Jerry York
Head Men's Hockey Coach
Boston College Hockey Office
Conte Forum,
140 Commonwealth Ave.
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
Phone: (617) 552-3028
FAX: (617) 552-0029
Email: mens.icehockey@bc.edu

Albie O'Connell
Head Men's Hockey Coach
Boston University Hockey Office
Agganis Arena
925 Commonwealth Ave.
Boston, MA 02215
Phone: (617) 353-4639
FAX: (617) 358-7150
Email: hockey@bu.edu

Mike Cavanaugh
Head Men's Hockey Coach
Mark Edward Freitas Ice Forum
University of Connecticut
Division of Athletics
509 Jim Calhoun Way, Unit 3275
Storrs, CT 06269 - 3275
Phone: 860-486-2946
FAX: 860-486-6783
Email: uconnhockey@uconn.edu

Red Gendron
Head Men's Hockey Coach
University of Maine Hockey Office
5747 Memorial Gym
Orono, ME 04469
Phone: (207) 581-1106
FAX: (207) 581-1102

Greg Carvel
Head Men's Hockey Coach
University of Massachusetts Hockey Office
Mullins Center
200 Commonwealth Ave.
Amherst, Mass. 01003
Phone: (413) 545-5175
FAX: (413) 577-0542
Email: carvel@umass.edu

Norm Bazin
Head Men's Hockey Coach
UMass Lowell Hockey Office
Tsongas Center
300 Martin Luther King Jr. Way
Lowell, MA 01852
Phone: (978) 934-2339
Email: hockey@uml.edu

Scott Borek
Head Men's Hockey Coach
Merrimack College Hockey Office
Volpe Center
315 Turnpike St.
North Andover, MA 01845
Phone: (978) 837-5341
FAX: (978) 837-5032
Email: boreks@merrimack.edu

Mike Souza
Head Men's Hockey Coach
UNH Hockey Office
Whittemore Center
128 Main St.
Durham, NH 03824
Phone: (603) 862-1161
FAX: (603) 862-1741
Email: mira.frase@unh.edu

Jim Madigan
Head Men's Hockey Coach
Northeastern University Hockey Office
Matthews Arena
360 Huntington Ave.
Boston, Mass. 02115
Phone: (617) 373-2631
FAX: (617) 373-8772
Email: n.shaikh@northeastern.edu

Nate Leaman
Head Men's Hockey Coach
Providence College Hockey Office
Schneider Arena
1 Cunningham Square
Providence, R.I. 02918
Phone: (401) 865-2168
FAX: (401) 865-2382
Email: nleaman@providence.edu

Todd Woodcroft
Head Men's Hockey Coach
University of Vermont Hockey Office
Gutterson Fieldhouse
97 Spear St.
Burlington, Vt. 05405
Phone: (802) 656-1414
FAX: (802) 656-9011
Email: TBA