The Winterthur, Switzerland native leads all Hockey East players in goals (25), assists (35) and points (60)
Mueller Named Top-3 Finalist For Patty Kazmaier Award
The Winterthur, Switzerland native leads all Hockey East players in goals (25), assists (35) and points (60)

Release Courtesy Northeastern Athletics

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo.— Sophomore forward Alina Mueller of the Northeastern women's hockey team was named a top-three finalist for the prestigious Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, as announced Tuesday by USA Hockey.

Mueller joins Wisconsin forward Abby Roque and Clarkson forward Elizabeth Giguére as the finalists for the award, given annually to the top player in Division I women's ice hockey. All three finalists will be invited to the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award Ceremony at the Royal Sonesta Boston in Cambridge, Massachusetts, on Saturday, March 21, as part of the NCAA Women's Frozen Four weekend hosted by Boston University.

The Winterthur, Switzerland native leads all Hockey East players in goals (25), assists (35), points (60), shorthanded goals (3) and game-winning goals (9). Mueller sits tied for third in the country with 60 points and leads the country with six shorthanded points.

In the clutch, Mueller has stepped up for the Huskies, with nine game-winning goals, a single-season program record at Northeastern. Of Northeastern's 30 game-winning goals, Mueller has been involved in scoring or assisting on 17 of them. Additionally, when Mueller scores, the Huskies are a perfect 21-0-0.

Mueller reached the 100-point mark this season, just over halfway into her sophomore campaign, becoming the second fastest player in Northeastern women's hockey history to reach 100 points in the Hockey East era (2002), behind only 2016 Patty Kazmaier winner Kendall Coyne Schofield. The sophomore is just the third player at Northeastern to reach 60 points in a season, alongside Coyne Schofield and Vicky Sunohara.

Mueller is the fifth player in program history to be named a top-three finalist, joining Kendall Coyne Schofield (2016), Florence Schelling (2012), Chanda Gunn (2004) and Brooke Whitney (2002). Coyne Schofield and Whitney are the two players in program history to win the Patty Kazmaier Award.

Mueller was named a Patty Kazmaier top-10 finalist for the second time in her career, following a nomination process by the Division I women's ice hockey coaches. The group of 10 was then reduced to three after a review of the players by a 13-member selection committee comprised of Division I women's ice hockey head coaches, members of the print and broadcast media, and representatives of USA Hockey. Selection criteria included outstanding individual and team skills, sportsmanship, performance in the clutch, personal character, competitiveness and a love of hockey. Consideration was also given to academic achievement and civic involvement.

Mueller and the Huskies are back in action for the Hockey East semifinals against Maine on Saturday, March 7 at 12 p.m. at Merrimack's Lawler Rink.