Commissioners Club
WHEA First Team All-Stars: Aerin Frankel, Skylar Fontaine, Megan Keller, Jesse Compher, Alina Mueller and Katelyn Rae
Women's Hockey East Names 2018-19 All-Star Teams
League Names First, Second Teams, Honorable Mentions at Championship Banquet

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - The Women's Hockey East Association announced its 2018-19 all-star teams as voted by the league's 10 head coaches Friday night at the conference's annual awards banquet ahead of the 17th annual Women's Hockey East Championship, March 9 and 10, at Schneider Arena on the campus of Providence College.

BONUS VIDEO: 2018-19 WHEA Highlights | Player of the Year Finalists | Rookie of the Year Finalists | Coach of the Year Finalists

Four players were selected unanimously as 2017-18 Women's Hockey East First Team All-Stars, including Boston College senior defenseman Megan Keller (Farmington Hills, Mich.), Boston University sophomore forward Jesse Compher (Northbrook, Ill.), and a duo from Northeastern in sophomore defenseman Skylar Fontaine (East Greenwich, R.I.) and freshman forward Alina Mueller (Winterthur, Switzerland). First Team selections were rounded out by the Huskies' sophomore goaltender Aerin Frankel (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.) and Merrimack senior forward Katelyn Rae (Courtice, Ont.).

Comprising Women's Hockey East All-Star Second Team are Merrimack senior goaltender Samantha Ridgewell (Outlook, Sask.), Boston University junior defenseman Abby Cook (Kelowna, B.C.), Northeastern sophomore defenseman Brooke Hobson (Prince Albert, Sask.), Boston University junior forward Samantha Davis (Pembroke, Mass.), Providence sophomore forward Maureen Murphy (Buffalo, N.Y.) and Boston College sophomore forward Daryl Watts (Toronto, Ont.).

For the first time, Women's Hockey East also named an All-Star Third Team, including Boston University sophomore goaltender Corinne Schroeder (Elm Creek, Man.), a pair of Boston College defensemen in rookie Cayla Barnes (Eastvale, Calif.) and senior Kali Flanagan (Burlington, Mass.), Merrimack senior defenseman Dominique Kremer (West Fargo, N.D.), Northeastern senior forward Kasidy Anderson (Shaker Heights, Ohio), Boston College junior forward Caitrin Lonergan (Roslindale, Mass.), and New Hampshire junior forward Taylor Wenczkowski (Rochester, N.H.).

Recognized as Women's Hockey East All-Star Honorable Mentions were goaltender Madison Myers (Colchester, Vt./Providence), defensemen Avery Fransoo (North Battleford, Sask./Providence) and Reagan Rust (Southaven, Miss./Boston University), and forwards Mikyla Grant-Mentis (Brampton, Ont./Merrimack), Makenna Newkirk (Scottsdale, Ariz./Boston College), and Veronika Pettey (Potomac, Md./Northeastern).

The 17th annual Women's Hockey East Tournament championship wil l take place this weekend, Saturday, March 9, and Sunday, March 10, at Providence College's Schneider Arena. No. 1 Northe astern will square off with No. 4 Providence Saturday at 1:30 p.m., while No. 2 Boston College and No. 3 Boston University ta ke the ice at 4:30 p.m. The winners advance to Sunday's championship tilt at 1:30 p.m. Fans can purchase adult tickets online at or by calling 401-865-4672.


First-Team All-Stars

G: Aerin Frankel, Northeastern
D: Skylar Fontaine, Northeastern *
D: Megan Keller, Boston College *
F: Jesse Compher, Boston University *
F: Alina Mueller, Northeastern *
F: Katelyn Rae, Merrimack

*denotes unanimous selection

Second-Team All-Stars

G: Samantha Ridgewell, Merrimack
D: Abby Cook, Boston University
D: Brooke Hobson, Northeastern
F: Samantha Davis, Boston University
F: Maureen Murphy, Providence
F: Daryl Watts, Boston College

Third-Team All-Stars

G: Corinne Schroeder, Boston University
D: Cayla Barnes, Boston College
D: Kali Flanagan, Boston College
D: Dominique Kremer, Merrimack
F: Kasidy Anderson, Northeastern
F: Caitrin Lonergan, Boston College
F: Taylor Wenczkowski, New Hampshire

Honorable Mentions

G: Madison Myers, Providence
D: Avery Fransoo, Providence
D: Reagan Rust, Boston University
F: Mikyla Grant-Mentis, Merrimack
F: Makenna Newkirk, Boston College
F: Veronika Pettey, Northeastern