Ted Ryan Named Joe Concannon Award Winner
Burlington Free Press Reporter Is 25th Recipient of Prestigious Award
Burlington Free Press Reporter Is 25th Recipient of Prestigious Award

WAKEFIELD, Mass. - Ted Ryan has been named the recipient of the prestigious Joe Concannon Media Award, Hockey East Commissioner Joe Bertagna announced today from the league's annual media day at TD Garden. He becomes the first Burlington Free Press writer to win the award.

"Ted and I go back to Vermont's ECAC days so I have observed him up close for a while," said Bertagna. "His work and personal traits make him a fitting addition to the prestigio us list of past recipients of this award."

Ryan has covered collegiate sports in the state of Vermont for over 45 years, beginning his career at the Rutland Herald before moving to the Burlington Free Press in 1975. He served as sports editor of the Free Press until 2008, but continues to cover sports and Vermont Catamounts hockey for the paper as a correspondent.

The veteran reporter has been the primary beat writer for Vermont's hockey team for over 40 years, covering the men's program through its rise in the ECAC Division II in the 1960s and 1970s through the program's first Division I season in 1974 and during its move into Hockey East in 2005. While covering the men's program extensively, Ryan has also covered the women's Catamounts program, while also serving multiple other schools throughout the state of Vermont.

For his efforts, Ryan has been recognized with numerous awards, including the Vermont Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association State Sportswriter of the Year four times in 1974, 1978, 1985 and 1998. Ryan removed himself from the ballot after 1998, so other writers could also be honored with the award. Ryan was also bestowed with the Norwich University Athletics Media Award in 2005 and was inducted into the Vermont Principal Association Hall of Fame in May 2006.

Throughout his career, Ryan also has served as a voter for several national awards a nd polls, including all divisions of college hockey, the Hobey Baker Award, the Heisman Trophy, and the New England Hockey Writers awards.

ABOUT THE JOE CONCANNON HOCKEY EAST MEDIA AWARD: The prestigious honor, named in 2001 in memory of long-time Boston Globe sportswriter Joe Concannon, is bestowed annually upon a member of the media who has demonstrated a superior body of work in covering and promoting the Hockey East Association over an extended period of time.

Hockey East Media Award History
1992 Larry Mahoney, Bangor Daily News
1993 Bob Whitelaw, New England Sports Network
1994 Bob Monahan, Boston Globe
1995 John Connolly, Boston Herald
1996 Charles Scoggins, Lowell Sun
1997 Bob Norton, New England Sports Network
1998 Joe Concannon, Boston Globe
1999 Dick Osborne, UNH Sports Network
2000 Bill Doherty, Huskies Radio
2001 Dave Hendrickson, U.S. College Hockey Online
2002 Roger Brown, Portsmouth Herald
2003 Bernie Corbett, Giant Sports Associates
2004 Rob Rudnick, Huskies Radio
2005 Eric Frede, NESN / CodRock Media
2006 Dan Hannigan, Maine Radio / CodRock Media
2007 Allen Lessels, New Hampshire Union Leader
2008 Mike Logan, Providence College Radio
2009 Bob Ellis, UMass Lowell Radio
2010 Brock Hines, UMass Sports Network
2011 Mike Machnik, Merrimack Radio, CHN & USCHO
2012 Jim Connelly, U.S. College Hockey Online (USCHO)
2013 Dan Parkhurst, UNH Radio/TV & Merrimack Radio
2014 Pete Webster, UNH Wildcat Sports Radio Network
2015 Nancy Marrapese-Burrell, The Boston Globe
2016 Ted Ryan, Burlington Free Press