

## PRESS RELEASE

contact: Brian Smithl bsmith@hockeyeastonline.coml 339.227.2988l @brismi22 591 North Avenue #2 I Wakefield, MA I 01880 I 781-245-2122

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: SEPTEMBER 27, 2016

## Ted Ryan Named Joe Concannon Award Winner

Burlington Free Press Reporter Is 25th Recipient of Prestigious Award

**WAKEFIELD**, Mass. - Ted Ryan has been named the recipient of the prestigious Joe Concannon Media Award, Hockey East Commissioner Joe Bertagna announced today from the league's annual media day at TD Garden. He becomes the first Burlington Free Press writer to win the award.

"Ted and I go back to Vermont's ECAC days so I have observed him up close for a while," said Bertagna. "His work and personal traits make him a fitting addition to the prestigious list of past recipients of this award."

Ryan has covered collegiate sports in the state of Vermont for over 45 years, beginning his career at the Rutland Herald before moving to the Burlington Free Press in 1975. He served as sports editor of the Free Press until 2008, but continues to cover sports and Vermont Catamounts hockey for the paper as a correspondent.

The veteran reporter has been the primary beat writer for Vermont's hockey team for over 40 years, covering the men's program through its rise in the ECAC Division II in the 1960s and 1970s through the program's first Division I season in 1974 and during its move into Hockey East in 2005. While covering the men's program extensively, Ryan has also covered the women's Catamounts program, while also serving multiple other schools throughout the state of Vermont.

For his efforts, Ryan has been recognized with numerous awards, including the Vermont Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association State Sportswriter of the Year four times in 1974, 1978, 1985 and 1998. Ryan removed himself from the ballot after 1998, so other writers could also be honored with the award. Ryan was also bestowed with the Norwich University Athletics Media Award in 2005 and was inducted into the Vermont Principal Association Hall of Fame in May 2006.

Throughout his career, Ryan also has served as a voter for several national awards and polls, including all divisions of college hockey, the Hobey Baker Award, the Heisman Trophy, and the New England Hockey Writers awards.

**ABOUT THE JOE CONCANNON HOCKEY EAST MEDIA AWARD:** The prestigious honor, named in 2001 in memory of long-time Boston Globe sportswriter Joe Concannon, is bestowed annually upon a member of the media who has demonstrated a superior body of work in covering and promoting the Hockey East Association over an extended period of time.

## **Hockey East Media Award History**

Year	Recipient, Affiliation	Year	Recipient, Affiliation
1992	Larry Mahoney, Bangor Daily News	2005	Eric Frede, NESN/Cod Rock Media
1993	Bob Whitelaw, New England Sports Network	2006	Dan Hannigan, Maine Radio/Cod Rock Media
1994	Bob Monahan, Boston Globe	2007	Allen Lessels, New Hampshire Union Leader
1995	John Connolly, Boston Herald	2008	Mike Logan, Providence College Radio
1996	Charles Scoggins, Lowell Sun	2009	Bob Ellis, UMass Lowell Radio
1997	Bob Norton, New England Sports Network	2010	Brock Hines, UMass Sports Network
1998	Joe Concannon, Boston Globe	2011	Mike Machnik, Merrimack Radio, CHN & USCHO
1999	Dick Osborne, UNH Sports Network	2012	Jim Connelly, USCHO
2000	Bill Doherty, Huskies Radio	2013	Dan Parkhurst, UNH Radio/TV & Merrimack Radio
2001	Dave Hendrickson, USCHO	2014	Pete Webster, UNH Wildcat Sports Radio Network
2002	Roger Brown, Portsmouth Herald	2015	Nancy Marrapese-Burrell, The Boston Globe
2003	Bernie Corbett, BU Radio	2016	Ted Ryan, Burlington Free Press
2004	Rob Rudnick, Huskies Radio		

# HEA #













