Carvel And York Named Finalists For 2021 Spencer Penrose Award
Given to CCM/AHCA Men’s Hockey Division I Coach of the Year

Ten coaches who have enjoyed on-ice success in 2020-21 have been named finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award, given annually to the CCM/AHCA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Coach of the Year. Selected by the nation's 61 NCAA Division I head coaches, the winner will be announced on Tuesday, April 6.

The nominees represent any coach who won or shared Coach of the Year honors in his conference this past season, as well as coaches whose teams have advanced to the 2021 NCAA Frozen Four. The only coach who has done both is Minnesota State's Mike Hastings.

Of this year's finalists, six are past recipients of this award: Brad Berry of North Dakota (2020), Greg Carvel of UMass (2019), Mike Hastings of Minnesota State (2015), Rand Pecknold of Quinnipiac (2016), Scott Sandelin of Minnesota Duluth (2004) and Jerry York of Boston College (1977.)

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first 10 NCAA championship hockey tournaments.

The CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

2020-21 AHCA Men’s Ice Hockey Spencer Penrose Award Finalists
(CCM/AHCA Division I Coach of the Year)

Brad Berry, North Dakota, NCHC COY*
Greg Carvel, UMass, NCAA Semifinalist*
Tony Granato, Wisconsin, Big Ten COY
Mike Hastings, Minnesota State, WCHA COY, NCAA Semifinalist*
Brett Larson, St. Cloud State, NCAA Semifinalist
Rand Pecknold, Quinnipiac, ECAC Hockey COY*
Brian Riley, Army West Point, Atlantic Hockey East COY
Scott Sandelin, Minnesota-Duluth, CAA Semifinalist*
Derek Schooley, Robert Morris, Atlantic Hockey West COY
Jerry York, Boston College, Hockey East COY*

* Past Spencer Penrose Award Winner