News from the



AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION

For immediate release: Tuesday, March 30, 2020

Finalists Announced for Spencer Penrose Award Given to CCM/AHCA Men's Hockey Division I Coach of the Year

Ten coaches who have enjoyed on-ice success in 2020-21 have been named finalists for the **Spencer Penrose Award**, given annually to the **CCM/AHCA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year**. Selected by the nation's 61 NCAA Division I head coaches, the winner will be announced on Tuesday, April 6.

The nominees represent any coach who won or shared Coach of the Year honors in his conference this past season, as well as coaches whose teams have advanced to the 2021 NCAA Frozen Four. The only coach who has done both is Minnesota State's Mike Hastings.

Of this year's finalists, six are past recipients of this award: Brad Berry of North Dakota (2020), Greg Carvel of UMass (2019), Mike Hastings of Minnesota State (2015), Rand Pecknold of Quinnipiac (2016), Scott Sandelin of Minnesota Duluth (2004) and Jerry York of Boston College (1977.)

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first 10 NCAA championship hockey tournaments.

The **CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS** are sponsored by **CCM HOCKEY** and chosen by members of the **AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION**. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

2020-21 AHCA Men's Ice Hockey Spencer Penrose Award Finalists

(CCM/AHCA Division I Coach of the Year)

Brad Berry, North Dakota, NCHC COY* Greg Carvel, UMass, NCAA Semifinalist* Tony Granato, Wisconsin, Big Ten COY Mike Hastings, Minnesota State, WCHA COY, NCAA Semifinalist* Brett Larson, St. Cloud State, NCAA Semifinalist

Rand Pecknold, Quinnipiac, ECAC Hockey COY* Brian Riley, Army West Point, Atlantic Hockey East COY Scott Sandelin, Minnesota-Duluth, CAA Semifinalist* Derek Schooley, Robert Morris, Atlantic Hockey West COY Jerry York, Boston College, Hockey East COY*

* Past Spencer Penrose Award Winner

CONTACT: Joe Bertagna (978-376-5494) PICK-UP: Past Winners List



###

JOE BERTAGNA Executive Director 7 Concord Street Gloucester, MA 01930 (978) 376-5494 j2b2hockey@gmail.com CASEY JONES President Clarkson University Potsdam, NY 13699 (315) 268-3874 cjones@clarkson.edu BRUCE DELVENTHAL Treasurer 7298 Salerno Court Naples, FL 34114 (518) 420-7479 bflyfish@earthlink.net



Previous Winners of the Spencer Penrose Award Division One Coach of the Year

- 1951 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth
- 1952 Cheddy Thompson, Colorado College
- 1953 John Mariucci, Minnesota
- 1954 Vic Heyliger, Michigan
- 1955 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard
- 1956 William Harrison, Clarkson
- 1957 Jack Riley, Army
- 1958 Harry Cleverly, Boston University
- 1959 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College
- 1960 Jack Riley, Army
- 1961 Murray Armstrong, Denver
- 1962 Jack Kelley, Colby
- 1963 Tony Frasca, Colorado College
- 1964 Tom Eccleston, Providence
- 1965 Jim Fullerton, Brown
- 1966 Amo Bessone, Michigan State
- 1967 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth
- 1968 Ned Harkness, Cornell
- 1969 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire
- 1970 John MacInnes, Michigan Tech
- 1971 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard
- 1972 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College
- 1973 Len Ceglarski, Boston College
- 1974 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire
- 1975 Jack Parker, Boston University
- 1976 John MacInnes, Michigan Tech
- 1977 Jerry York, Clarkson
- 1978 Jack Parker, Boston University
- 1979 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire
- 1980 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan
- 1981 Bill O'Flaherty, Clarkson
- 1982 Fernie Flaman, Northeastern
- 1983 Bill Cleary, Harvard
- 1984 Mike Sertich, Minnesota Duluth
- 1985 Len Ceglarski, Boston College

- 1986 Ralph Backstrom, Denver
- 1987 John "Gino" Gasparini, North Dakota
- 1988 Frank Anzalone, Lake Superior
- 1989 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
- 1990 Terry Slater, Colgate
- 1991 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan
- 1992 Ron Mason, Michigan State
- 1993 George Gwozdecky, Miami
- 1994 Don Lucia, Colorado College
- 1995 Shawn Walsh, Maine
- 1996 Bruce Crowder, UMass Lowell
- 1997 Dean Blais, North Dakota
- 1998 Tim Taylor, Yale
- 1999 Richard Umile, New Hampshire
- 2000 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
- 2001 Dean Blais, North Dakota
- 2002 Tim Whitehead, Maine
- 2003 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
- 2004 Scott Sandelin, Minnesota Duluth
- 2005 George Gwozdecky, Denver
- 2006 Enrico Blasi, Miami
- 2007 Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame
- 2008 Red Berenson, Michigan
- 2009 Jack Parker, Boston University
- 2010 Wayne Wilson, RIT
- 2011 Nate Leaman, Union
- 2012 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
- 2013 Norm Bazin, UMass Lowell
- 2014 Rick Bennett, Union
- 2015 Mike Hastings, Minnesota State
- 2016 Rand Pecknold, Quinnipiac
- 2017 Jim Montgomery, Denver
- 2018 Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame
- 2019 Greg Carvel, Massachusetts
- 2020 Brad Berry, North Dakota
- 2020 Mike Schafer, Cornell