Maine junior goaltender Jeremy Swaymanwas named the Leonard Fowle New England MVP
Maine's Gendron, Swayman Take New England Hockey Writers Men's D-1 Top Honors
Annual Dinner Cancelled — Parker-York Award Will Not Be Presented

The University of Maine can claim the 2019-20 Clark Hodder New England Coach of the Year in Dennis "Red" Gendron and the Leonard Fowle New England MVP in goaltender Jeremy Swayman among the New England Hockey Writers Association honor announced today.

Gendron was the Hockey East Coach of the Year this past season and Swayman was one of the three Hobey Baker Award "Hat Trick" finalists, along with winning the Mike Richter Award as the top goaltender in the nation. In addition to these honorees, the NE-HWA announced five other individual awards and 14 Division I Men's All-Stars. The 14 All-Stars came from nine different schools, with BC, Harvard, Northeastern, Providence and Sacred Heart having two each.

In addition to the All-Stars, and the Coach of the Year and MVP, five other individual awards were announced. Providence sopho-more Jack Dugan and UMass junior John Leonard shared the Herb Gallagher Top Forward award; Boston University junior David Farrance was named the Bob Monahan Best Defenseman; Boston College forward Alex Newhook won the George Carens Award as top rookie in N.E. Newhook was also chosen as winner of the Tim Taylor Award as the nation's top rookie; the Paul Hines Award Most Improved Player went to Sacred Heart senior forward Jason Cotton, a Second team All-American this season; and in the closest balloting, Boston College senior forward Julius Mattila received the Frank Jones Trophy as Best Defensive Forward, edging out BU's Patrick Curry and Harvard's Jack Drury.

Due to the Covid-19 virus, the annual dinner has been cancelled. (All honorees will be sent their awards.) In addition to these N.E. Hockey Writers awards, presented by gender and division, the annual N.E. Hockey Writers' Dinner has featured presentation of the Gridiron Club of Boston's Walter Brown and Joe Concannon awards, the J. Thom Lawler Award given by the Eastern Massachusetts Chapter of the National Ice Hockey Officials Association and a number of other individual awards. The prestigious Parker-York Award for Contribution to Amateur Hockey in New England will not be given out this year.

2019-20 New England Hockey Writers Association Women's Division I All-Stars
ASpencer Knight, FR, Boston College
(Darien, CT)
Jeremy Swayman, JR, University of Maine
(Anchorage, AK)
Michael Callahan, SO, Providence College
(Franklin, MA)
David Farrance, JR, Boston University
(Victor, NY)
Mike Lee, SR, Sacred Heart
(Hamden, CT)
Jack Rathbone, SO, Harvard University
(West Roxbury, MA)
Ryan Shea, SR, Northeastern
(Milton, MA)
Nick Abruzzese, FR, Harvard University
(Slate Hill, NY)
Jason Cotton, SR, Sacred Heart University
(Parker, TX)
Jack Dugan, SO, Providence College
(Rochester, NY)
John Leonard, JR, Massachusetts
(Amherst, MA)
Tyler Madden, SO, Northeastern
(Deerfield Beach, FL)
Alex Newhook, FR, Boston College
(St. John's, NF)
Drew O'Connor, SO, Dartmouth
(Chatham, NJ)
Paul Hines Award (Most Improved): Jason Cotton, SR, F, Sacred Heart (Runner-Up: Tyce Thompson, SO, F, Providence)

Frank Jones Award (Defensive Forward): Julius Mattila, SR, F, BC (Runners-Up: Patrick Curry, SR, BU; Jack Drury, SO, Harvard)

George Carens Award (Best Rookie): Alex Newhook, FR, F, Boston College (Runner-Up: Nick Abruzzese, F, Harvard)

Herb Gallagher Award (Best Forward): TIE: Jack Dugan, SO, Providence and John Leonard, JR, Massachusetts

Bob Monahan Award (Best Defenseman): David Farrance, JR, D, Boston University (Runner-Up: Jack Rathbone, SO, Harvard)

Leonard Fowle Award (MVP): Jeremy Swayman, JR, G, University of Maine (Runner-Up: Jack Dugan, SO, F, Providence)

Clark Hodder Award (Coach of the Year): Dennis "Red" Gendron, Maine (Runner-Up: Jerry York, BC)

Parker-York Award (Contribution to NE Hockey): Not Awarded