Commissioners Club
Commissioners Club
NESN Personality Honored As 27th Recipient of Award
Tom Caron Named Joe Concannon Award Winner
NESN Personality Honored As 27th Recipient of Award

WAKEFIELD, Mass. - Tom Caron has been named the recipient of the prestigious Joe Concannon Award, Hockey East Commissioner Joe Bertagna announced today from the league’s annual media day at TD Garden.

“Tom Caron makes every game he works special,” said Bertagna. “Hockey or baseball. Pro or amateur. He is energetic, he is prepared and he is authentic. All of us in Hockey East have been the beneficiaries of his unique contri - butions and I am happy we are honoring him with this award.”

Tom Caron serves as studio host for NESN’s Boston Red Sox programming along-side baseball Hall of Famers Dennis Eckersley, Jim Rice and former Red Sox legends Tim Wakefi eld and Steve Lyons. His duties include hosting the network’s pre-game and post-game shows as well as the network’s off-season studio shows. He also serves as NESN’s play-by-play announcer for Pawtucket Red Sox and Portland Sea Dogs telecasts and has filled in for Dave O’Brien during Boston Red Sox telecasts. In the winter he calls NESN’s Hockey East telecasts and is the network’s voice of the Beanpot. The multi-talented announcer joined NESN in 1995 as co-host of Front Row, a nightly sports magazine program.

Prior to joining NESN, Caron, one of New England’s favorite local TV sports personalities, worked at WPTZ-TV in Plattsburgh, NY which serves the Burlington, VT area, WNNE-TV in Hanover, NH, and WGME-TV in Portland, ME. He also worked as the Portland Pirates (AHL) play-by-play announcer, and was inducted into the team’s Hall of Fame in 2014.

A three-time New England Emmy winner, Caron is involved in numerous charities, serving on the advisory board of Good Sports, a non-profit that provides sporting equipment for inner-city youth programs, and is heavily involved in the work of Mass Mentoring, the Red Sox Foundation, and Mass Hockey. He serves on the Board of Directors of the Central Mass Outlaws youth hockey organization.

ABOUT THE JOE CONCANNON HOCKEY EAST MEDIA AWARD: The prestigious honor, named in 2001 in memory of beloved Boston Globe sportswriter Joe Concannon, is bestowed annually upon an individual who has demonstrated an outstanding body of work in covering and promoting the interests of the Hockey East Association.

Joe Concannon Hockey East Media Award History
Year Recipient, Affiliation
1992 Larry Mahoney, Bangor Daily News
1993 Bob Whitelaw, New England Sports Network
1994 Bob Monahan, Boston Globe
1995 John Connolly, Boston Herald
1996 Charles Scoggins, Lowell Sun
1997 Bob Norton, New England Sports Network
1998 Joe Concannon, Boston Globe
1999 Dick Osborne, UNH Sports Network
2000 Bill Doherty, Huskies Radio
2001 Dave Hendrickson, U.S. College Hockey Online
2002 Roger Brown, Portsmouth Herald
2003 Bernie Corbett, Giant Sports Associates
2004 Rob Rudnick, Huskies Radio
2005 Eric Frede, NESN / CodRock Media
2006 Dan Hannigan, Maine Radio / CodRock Media
2007 Allen Lessels, New Hampshire Union Leader
2008 Mike Logan, Providence College Radio
2009 Bob Ellis, UMass Lowell Radio
2010 Brock Hines, UMass Sports Network
2011 Mike Machnik, Merrimack Radio, CHN & USCHO
2012 Jim Connelly, U.S. College Hockey Online (USCHO)
2013 Dan Parkhurst, UNH Radio/TV & Merrimack Radio
2014 Pete Webster, UNH Wildcat Sports Radio Network
2015 Nancy Marrapese-Burrell, The Boston Globe
2016 Ted Ryan, Burlington Free Press
2017 Pete Souris, New Hampshire/Hockey East/UMass Lowell
2018 Tom Caron, NESN