BU sophomore Jonnie Bloemers scores at 2:43 of overtime

Jonnie Bloemers netted the game-winner for the Terriers

BOSTON - The Boston University women's ice hockey team overcame ninth-ranked Boston College Friday night, as sophomore Jonnie Bloemers scored the game-winner midway through overtime. The Terrier defense proved to be the team's best offense, as juniors Amanda Shaw and co-captain Sarah Russell also scored.

Boston University enjoyed two brief leads during the evening, both on power-play goals, only to have the Eagles score the equalizer soon thereafter. Junior Allyse Wilcox made 20 saves in goal to earn the Terriers their second consecutive win, after the netminder shutout Vermont Sunday.

Russell broke the scoreless tie 5:15 into the second period, as she and junior Laurel Koller developed a give-and-go play to get Russell open in front of net. The co-captain received Koller's quick pass and sent it home to give the Terriers their first lead of the evening.

However, BC evened the score just 53 seconds later, as senior co-captain Deb Spillane and junior Meghan Fardelmann found sophomore Kellie Stack open for her seventh goal of the season.

Shaw gave the Terriers the lead once again, with a score coming 8:12 into the third period off an assist from freshman Jillian Kirchner, her third in the last week.

But the Eagles would not fade, clawing back again to score 2:13 later, with Spillane notching the equalizer off assists from Stack and Fardelmann to push the game into overtime.

BU outshot BC 6-1 during the extra period, with the vast majority of those shots coming within the opening 45 seconds. It was Bloemers who served the game's final blow, receiving a pass from sophomore Melissa Anderson on the goal-side of the right circle and then skipping it off the Eagle goaltender's pad between her legs. Bloemer's score came 2:43 into the overtime period, giving the Terriers their second conference wins in as many attempts.

BU hosts Sacred Heart Saturday, a team that the Terriers have defeated in each of the previous seasons, with face-off scheduled for 3:00 p.m.