2017 Women's Beanpot Hall of Fame Class Announced
Group Will Be Enshrined Tuesday At Northeastern
Group Will Be Enshrined Tuesday At Northeastern

WAKEFIELD, Mass. – Women's Beanpot Tournament director Joe Bertagna today announced the three members of the Women's Beanpot Hall of Fame Class of 2017, ahead of the 39th annual competition set to take place January 31 and February 7 at Northeastern University's Matthews Arena. Included in the class are Meghan Fardelmann (Boston College), John Dooley (Harvard University), and Jessica Wagner (Northeastern University). Dooley will be inducted during a ceremony on January 31 while Fardelmann and Wagner will be honored on February 7.

John Dooley was the third head coach of Harvard Women's Ice Hockey, serving from 1981 t0 1994. In that time, Dooley's teams advanced to the championship game 11 times, winn ing three times (1982, 1983 and 1992). Three Crimson standouts from the Dooley Era rank in the tournament's Top 20 in scoring (and in Harvard's Top 10.) A former successful Massachusetts boys' high school (Dedham H.S.), Dooley compiled a career mark of 162-115-1 behind the Harvard bench.

Meghan Fardelmann played a lead role in helping the Eagles to their first Women's Beanpot titles in 2006 and 2007. A four-year Beanpot participant in the BC Class of 2009, Fardelmann played on the first winning squad in 2006 — scoring the GWG in the opening round and setting up the GW in the final — and then earned Beanpot MVP honors in 2007 when she had five points overall and three goals in the championship game. A native of Lansing, Kansas, she went 6-2-8 in eight Women's Beanpot games.

Jessica Wagner was a member of three Women's Beanpot championship teams during her four-year career on Huntington Ave. A native of Anoka, Minnesota, Wagner enjoyed Beanpot success in 1994, 1996 and 1997. She was the Beanpot MVP as a junior in 1996 and was a co-captain on the Huskies' 1997 champs. Wagner, who had Beanpot stats of 7-6-13 in nine Beanpot games, scored both the GTG and GWG in NU's 4-3 OT win over BC in the 1996 final.

The women's Beanpot Hall of Fame was established in 2008, during the tournament's 30th anniversary. New members are inducted annually after coaches from the four schools send in nominations to the Tournament Director in December of each year. Presentations are scheduled based upon the availability of the inductees.

Women's Beanpot Hall of Fame Members

Class of 2008
BC – Erin Magee VanDuzer, 1999
BU – Nancy Kilik McGorty, 1982
Harvard – Jennifer Botterill, 2003
NU – Diane Der Boghosian, 1981

Class of 2009
BC – Laura Traynham Hannon, 1997
BU – Lisa Whitcomb Huckins, 1984
Harvard – Cheryl Tate, 1984
NU – Julie Piacentini, 1991

Class of 2010
BC – Jennifer Buckley, 2001
BU – Deb Gautreau Parece, 1983
Harvard – Tammy Shewchuk Dryden, 2001
NU – Hilary Witt, 2001

Class of 2011
BC – Lisa Davis, 2005
BU – Allyse Wilcox, 2009
Harvard – A.J. Mleczko, 1999
NU – Kathryn Waldo, 1999 (posthumously)

Class of 2012
BC – Carroll McCaffrey Willa, Defense
BU – Former Head Coach Lee Hunsaker
Harvard – Nicole Corriero, Forward
NU – Former Head Coach Don McLeod

Class of 2013
BC – Genevieve Missirlian Vartian, 1999
Harvard – Julie Chu, 2007
NU – Kelly Dyer Hayes, 1989

Class of 2014
BC – Deb Spillane, 2008
Harvard – Lauren McAuliffe, 2004
NU – Jill Toney, 1986

Class of 2015
BC – Alison Quandt, 2006
Harvard – Sarah Vaillancourt, 2009
NU – Brooke Whitney, 2003

Class of 2016
BC – Maggie Taverna, 2009
BU – Gina Kearns, 2009
Harvard – Angela Ruggiero, 2005
NU – Tina (Cardinale) Beauchemin, 1989