Starry Quartet To Be Inducted Into Women's Beanpot Hall of Fame
Maggie Taverna, Gina Kearns, Angela Ruggiero and Tina Cardinale Are Latest Honorees
Pictured: Maggie Taverna (Boston College '09) and Gina Kearns (Boston University '09)

Four of the best women's college hockey players ever to suit up in the Boston area will be recognized as 2016 Women's Beanpot Hall of Fame inductees when the event comes to Boston University next month. This year's honorees are:

Maggie Taverna, Boston College '09 Gina Kearns, Boston University '09 Angela Ruggiero, Harvard University '05 Tina Cardinale-Beauchemin, Northeastern University '89 Maggie Taverna was a four-time Hockey East All-Star on defense, the first Eagle player to be so honored. Her

BC teams went 7-1 in Beanpot play during her four years and sported a 1.47 GAA in that time, including shutouts in the 2006 and 2009 finals. She graduated as the school's record holder for most games played. Currently she is the head coach at Arlington Catholic High School, one of the top ranked programs in Massachusetts.

Gina Kearns was the first BU player to reach 100 career points, recording 50-52-102 in 138 games played as a forward. She collected three goals and three assists for six points in eight Beanpot games. She is currently in her second season as head coach at Neumann College.

Angela Ruggiero is one of the most celebrated and recognized players in the history of women's ice hockey. Recently inducted into both the Canadian and U.S. Halls of Fame, this rugged blueliner led Harvard to four Beanpot titles in her four All-American seasons. She received the Patty Kazmaier Award as the best player in college hockey in 2004 and was a four-time Olympian, winning gold (1998), silver twice (2002 and 2010), and bronze (2006) medals. She is currently a member of International Olympic Committee.

Tina Cardinale-Beauchemin led Northeastern to four straight Beanpot titles (1985-1988) and earned Beanpot MVP honors in 1988 as a senior forward when she scored the GWG. Overall, she is a member of Northeastern University Athletic Hall of Fame, was a two-time ECAC All-Star and was named to AWHCA Team of the Decade for the 1980s. She is currently a Sr. Credit Analyst at EMC and has been in this position since May 2001.

The induction ceremonies will take place over the two Women's Beanpot nights, this year's event being hosted at BU's Walter Brown Arena. On Tuesday, February 2, Taverna and Kearns will be honored prior to the second semifinal game. On Tuesday, February 9, Rugggiero and Cardinale-Beauchemin will be honored prior to the championship game.

The schedule for the 38th Annual Women's Beanpot Championships at Walter Brown Arena is as follows:

Tuesday, February 2: Boston College vs. Harvard at 5:00 pm, followed by Boston University vs. Northeastern at 8:00 pm

Tuesday, February 9: Consolation Game at 4:30 pm, followed by the 38th Annual Championship Game at 7:30 pm