League Set to Complete Entirety of 2021 Season In Lake Placid
A Record 54 Alumnae Named to NWHL Rosters
League Set to Complete Entirety of 2021 Season In Lake Placid

WAKEFIELD, Mass. - A record 54 alumnae of Hockey East Association schools are set to compete in the 2021 National Women’s Hockey League season, set to take place from January 23 through February 5 in Lake Placid, New York. A full list of the players can be found below.

The competition in Lake Placid will feature the NWHL’s six teams, the Boston Pride, Buffalo Beauts, Connecticut Whale, Metropolitan Riveters, Minnesota Whitecaps, and first-year expansion club the Toronto Six. Each team will each play a five-game round robin tournament, followed by a playoff round that will determine the four advancing teams into the Isobel Cup Semifinals.

In all, the 54 players represent nine of Hockey East’s 10 member institutions. New Hampshire claims the most players in the NWHL with 10 players, while both Boston University and Providence can boast nine former Terriers and Friars in the league. There are eight Maine Black Bears competing for the 2021 Isobel Cup, seven Northeastern Huskies, four Merrimack Warriors, three Boston College Eagles, and two UConn Huskies and Vermont Catamounts.

The Boston Pride boast the most Hockey East alumnae, carrying 15 former league players on its roster, followed by the Beauts with 11, the Riveters and Six with eight each, the Whitecaps with seven, and the Whale have five league representatives on its squad.

The single-elimination Isobel Cup Semifinals will be shown live nationally on NBCSN on Thursday, February 4 at 5:30 p.m. ET and 8 p.m. ET. The winners of the semifinals will advance to the Isobel Cup Final on Friday, February 5 at 7 p.m. ET. In addition to coverage on NBCSN, live coverage will stream exclusively on NBCSports.com and the NBC Sports app. These telecasts will mark the first-ever women’s professional hockey games to air on a major national cable network in the U.S.

The 2020 National Women’s Hockey League Entry Draft was a historic day for Hockey East that included its third number one overall pick in the NWHL Draft, Boston University forward Sammy Davis. In total, nine alumnae of Hockey East member schools were selected in the 2020 NWHL Draft representing five of the 10 league institutions.

The nine overall selections are the second-most in a single NWHL Draft. In total, 38 Hockey East alumnae have been chosen in the NWHL Draft, including a record 11 in 2017.

With Davis’s selection, Boston University is the only school to have the first overall pick in the entry drafts of the NWHL, CWHL, (2016 - Kayla Tutino, Boston Blades), and the NHL (2000 - Rick DiPietro, New York Islanders.) Davis is the third player from Hockey East to be selected first overall in the NWHL Draft, following a pair of Boston College Eagles in Alex Carpenter in 2015 and Katie Burt in 2017.

With the help and guidance from USA Hockey, the NWHL’s season will also have an all-female officiating staff, including several Hockey East officials, the first-ever an all-female officiating initiative of this scale.

Hockey East Alumae in the 2021 NWHL Season
Name Pos. School NWHL Team
Julie Allen F New Hampshire Toronto Six
Brooke Avery F New Hampshire Metropolitan Riveters
Brooke Boquist F Providence Toronto Six
McKenna Brand F Northeastern Boston Pride
Winny Brodt Brown D New Hampshire Minnesota Whitecaps
Paige Capistran D Northeastern Boston Pride
Elaine Chuli G UConn Toronto Six
Taytum Clairmont F Northeastern Toronto Six
Brittany Colton F Maine Buffalo Beauts
Jonna Curtis F New Hampshire Minnesota Whitecaps
Sammy Davis F Boston University Boston Pride
Whitney Dove D Providence Buffalo Beauts
Shannon Doyle D Boston University Connecticut Whale
Kaleigh Fratkin D Boston University Boston Pride
Mariah Fujimagari G Maine Connecticut Whale
Mikayla Grant-Mentis F Merrimack Toronto Six
Victoria Hanson G Boston University Boston Pride
Tori Howran D New Hampshire Connecticut Whale
Cailey Hutchison F Maine Metropolitan Riveters
Carly Jackson G Maine Buffalo Beauts
Jordan Juron F Boston University Buffalo Beauts
Lauren Kelly D Northeastern Boston Pride
Theresa Knutson F UConn Metropolitan Riveters
Sammy Kolowrat D Vermont Metropolitan Riveters
Dominique Kremer D Merrimack Buffalo Beauts
Kate Leary F Boston College Metropolitan Riveters
Mackenzie MacNeil F Vermont Toronto Six
Cassidy MacPherson F Providence Buffalo Beauts
Alyson Matteau D Maine Buffalo Beauts
Meghara McManus F New Hampshire Boston Pride
Rebecca Morse D Providence Metropolitan Riveters
Allie Morse G Providence Minnesota Whitecaps
Mary Parker F Boston University Boston Pride
Marie-Jo Pelletier D New Hampshire Buffalo Beauts
Christina Putinga F Providence Boston Pride
Jenna Rheault D New Hampshire Boston Pride
Audra Richards F Maine Minnesota Whitecaps
Meaghan Rickard F Providence Boston Pride
Samantha Ridgewell G Merrimack Toronto Six
Nina Rodgers F Boston University Minnesota Whitecaps
Rebecca Russo F Boston University Metropolitan Riveters
Brooke Stacey F Maine Buffalo Beauts
Sarah Steele D Boston University Toronto Six
Tori Sullivan F Northeastern Boston Pride
Allie Thunstrom F Boston College Minnesota Whitecaps
Carlee Turner F New Hampshire Boston Pride
Neve Van Pelt F Providence Buffalo Beauts
Tereza Vanisova F Maine Boston Pride
Paige Voight F Merrimack Metropolitan Riveters
Taylor Wasylk F Boston College Buffalo Beauts
Janine Weber F Providence Connecticut Whale
Taylor Wenczkowski F New Hampshire Boston Pride
Brooke White-Lancette F Northeastern Minnesota Whitecaps
Alyssa Wohlfeiler F Northeastern Connecticut Whale