Three Choices Highlight Day Two of Selections
Nine Hockey East Alumnae Selected in 2020 NWHL Draft
Three Choices Highlight Day Two of Selections

WAKEFIELD, Mass. - Three skaters with Hockey East ties were selected on Day Two of the 2020 National Women's Hockey League Entry Draft, it was announced tonight. Following a historic first round that saw Hockey East claim its third number one overall pick in the NWHL Draft, nine alumnae of Hockey East member schools were selected in the 2020 NWHL Draft representing five of the 10 league institutions.

Boston University forward Sammy Davis (Pembroke, Mass.) was selected by the Boston Pride with first overall pick in the 2020 National Women's Hockey League Entry Draft. A full list of those players can be found below.

The Pride selected five Hockey East players in total, including all three representatives picked tonight. The nine overall selections are the second-most in a single NWHL Draft. In total, 38 Hockey East alumnae have been chosen in the NWHL Draft, including a record 11 in 2017.

With Davis's selection, Boston University is now the only school to have the first overall pick in the entry drafts of the NWHL, CWHL, (2016 - Kayla Tutino, Boston Blades), and the NHL (2000 - Rick DiPietro, New York Islanders.) Davis is the third player from Hockey East to be selected first overall in the NWHL Draft, following a pair of Boston College Eagles in Alex Carpenter in 2015 and Katie Burt in 2017.

The six NWHL teams competing next season will include Boston Pride, Buffalo Beauts, Connecticut Whale, Metropolitan Riveters, Minnesota Whitecaps, and the new expansion team in Toronto, which was introduced on April 22.

Hockey East Players Selected in the 2020 NWHL Draft
Rd. Pick Player NWHL Team Pos. School
1 1 Sammy Davis Boston Pride F Boston University
1 3 Carly Jackson Buffalo Beauts G Maine
2 7 Tori Howran Connecticut Whale D New Hampshire
2 9 Codie Cross Buffalo Beauts D Northeastern
2 10 Delaney Belinskas Metropolitan Riveters F Boston College
2 12 Tereza Vanisova Boston Pride F Maine
3 18 Taylor Wenczkowski Boston Pride F New Hampshire
5 29 Meghara McManus Boston Pride F New Hampshire
5 30 Paige Capistran Boston Pride D Northeastern

ABOUT HOCKEY EAST: The Hockey East Association is an 11-team Division I college men's hockey conference founded in 1984 and a 10-team Division I women's league which began play in 2002-03. The men's league has won nine NCAA championships in the past 27 years including Providence College in 2015 at TD Garden in Boston. Since 1999, Hockey East has won seven NCAA Championships with 16 NCAA Championship Game appearances, while placing 27 teams in the Frozen Four and 71 teams in the NCAA Tournament during that time. Overall, Hockey East has sent 115 teams to the NCAA Tournament since its inaugural season, more than any other conference in that span. The league is home to 11 Hobey Baker Memorial Award winners and three Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winners.