Davis is first Terrier to be the top choice in the NWHL Draft
Boston University's Sammy Davis Selected First Overall in NWHL Draft
Five Other Hockey East Players Chosen On First Day of Entry Draft

WAKEFIELD, Mass. - Boston University forward Sammy Davis (Pembroke, Mass.) was selected by the Boston Pride with first overall pick in the 2020 National Women's Hockey League Entry Draft, it was announced on Tuesday night. Davis is first Terrier to be the top choice in the NWHL Draft.

Overall, six Hockey East players were chosen in opening two rounds of the draft, representing five different member institutions. A full list of those players can be found below.

With Davis's selection, Boston University becomes the only school to have the first overall pick in the entry drafts of the NWHL, CWHL, (2016 - Kayla Tutino, Boston Blades), and the NHL (2000 - Rick DiPietro, New York Islanders.)

Davis is the third player from Hockey East to be selected first overall in the NWHL Draft, following a pair of Boston College Eagles in Alex Carpenter in 2015 and Katie Burt in 2017. In total, 35 Hockey East alumnae have been chosen in the NWHL Draft, including a record 11 in 2017.

The final three rounds of the 2020 NWHL Draft will be announced live on Twitter at @NWHL beginning at 7 p.m. on Wednesday night.

The six NWHL teams competing next season will include Boston Pride, Buffalo Beauts, Connecticut Whale, Metropolitan Riveters, Minnesota Whitecaps, and the new expansion team in Toronto, which was introduced on April 22.

Hockey East Players Selected in the First Two Rounds of the 2020 NWHL Draft
Rd. Pick Player NWHL Team Pos. School
1 1 Sammy Davis Boston Pride F Boston University
1 3 Carly Jackson Buffalo Beauts G Maine
2 7 Tori Howran Connecticut Whale D New Hampshire
2 9 Codie Cross Buffalo Beauts D Northeastern
2 10 Delaney Belinskas Metropolitan Riveters F Boston College
2 12 Tereza Vanisova Boston Pride F Maine

ABOUT HOCKEY EAST: The Hockey East Association is an 11-team Division I college men's hockey conference founded in 1984 and a 10-team Division I women's league which began play in 2002-03. The men's league has won nine NCAA championships in the past 27 years including Providence College in 2015 at TD Garden in Boston. Since 1999, Hockey East has won seven NCAA Championships with 16 NCAA Championship Game appearances, while placing 27 teams in the Frozen Four and 71 teams in the NCAA Tournament during that time. Overall, Hockey East has sent 115 teams to the NCAA Tournament since its inaugural season, more than any other conference in that span. The league is home to 11 Hobey Baker Memorial Award winners and three Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winners.