Commissioners Club
Weekly Honorees: Aerin Frankel, Alina Mueller and Skylar Fontaine
Weekly Release: Northeastern Wins Second Straight Bertagna Trophy
Huskies, Boston College Earn Bids Into National Tournament


Northeastern claimed its second consecutive Bertagna Trophy, to pping Boston College, 3-2 in overtime, on the campus of Providence College on Sunday. Senior captain Kasidy Anderson (Shaker Heights, Ohio) potted the championship clinching goal 12:39 into the extra frame to deliver th Huskies the title and an automatic bid into the 2019 National Collegiate Women's Ice Hockey Tournament. Sophomore goaltender Aerin Frankel (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.) was named Tournament MVP for the second straight year, stopping 62 shots on the weekend. Frankel is now 8-0 in league postseason play.

The 2019 Hockey East All-Tournament Team included three unanimous selections, including Northeastern's Frankel and defenseman Skylar Fontaine (East Greenwich, R.I.) and Boston College sophomore forward Daryl Watts (Toronto, Ont.). Rounding out the squad was Huskies' rookie forward Alina Mueller (Winterthur, Switzerland), Eagles' senior defender Kali Flanagan (Burlington, Mass.) and Providence senior forward Christina Putigna (Grimsby, Ont.).

The No. 3 Huskies (27-5-5, 21-3-3 HEA) earn just their third bid into the National Tournament after claiming the school's second consecutive Hockey East Tournament title.

It marks the third time that Northeastern has earned a berth in the National Tournament and its second straight trip to the national postseason. The Huskies have secured hosting duties for the first time in the national tournament, drawing a home contest with Cornell. The program has never advanced to the Frozen Four.

Boston College (26-11-1, 19-7-1 HEA) advances into the National Tournament field for the 11th time in program history and it marks the ninth-straight appearance for the Eagles in the national quarterfinals. The Eagles are facing a road contest in the National Tournament for the first time since 2014, traveling to No. 4 Clarkson. Boston College has moved on to the Frozen Four on seven occasions, including three of the last four seasons, and appeared in the national title game in 2016.

The field is rounded out by No. 1 Wisconsin hosting Syracuse and No. 2 Minnesota welcoming Princeton.

The NCAA quarterfinal round is set to begin on March 15 and the four winners advance to the 2019 Women's Frozen Four hosted by the Quinnipiac University, March 22 & 24. All three games can be seen live on the Big Ten Network, while Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award ceremony will be shown live on NHL Network on March 23 be ginning at 11:30 a.m.



Aerin Frankel - Northeastern

Aerin Frankel (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.) was named Hockey East Tournament MVP for the second straight year after anchoring the Huskies to backto- back Bertagna Trophies. The sophomore netminder made 62 saves over championship weekend and was unanimously named to the All-Tournament Team. Frankel is 8-0 in the HEA postseason.



Alina Mueller - Northeastern

Alina Mueller (Fr., F; Winterthur, Switzerland) potted a goal in each of the Huskies' championship weekend games and earned a spot on the All-Tournament Team for her efforts in helping her squad to the 2019 Hockey East Tournament crown. She was also named 2018-19 Pro Ambitions Rookie of the Year on Friday.



Skylar Fontaine - Northeastern

Skylar Fontaine (So., D; East Greenwich, R.I.) was unanimously named to the Hockey East All-Tournament team after assisting on each of the Huskies' game-winning goals en route to claiming the Bertagna Trophy for the second straight year. She racked up seven points in the league postseason, scoring one game-winning goal and dishing out six assists.


Kali Flanagan, BC (Sr., D; Burlington, Mass.) Was named to the Hockey East All-Tournament Team for her performance in the league postseason. She found the back of the net with 4.6 seconds left in the title game to send Boston College and Northeastern into overtime. She also added two assists in a 5-1 semifinal win over Boston University on Saturday.

Daryl Watts, BC (So., F; Toronto, Ont.) Earned a unanimous berth on the Hockey East All-Tournament Team after racking up eight points (2g, 6a) in the postseason. In a 5-1 semifinal win over Boston University, Watts scored twice, including the game-winning goal, and added an assist before dishing out a helper on both of the Eagles' tallies in the title game.

Kasidy Anderson, NU (Sr., F; Shaker Heights, Ohio) Scored the championship-clinching goal to deliver Northeastern its second straight Bertagna Trophy as Hockey East champions. The senior found the back of the net 12:39 into overtime to lift her team over the Eagles.

Chloe Aurard, NU (Fr., F: Villard-de-Lans, France) Led all WHEA rookies with three points over the weekend in helping NU capture the league crown. Aurard notched a goal and an assist on Saturday vs. PC, and then earned a helper on Alina Mueller's third-period goal Sunday vs. BC.

Christina Putigna, PC (Sr., F: Grimsby, Ont.) Claimed a spot on the Hockey East All-Tournament Team after scoring a goal and adding an assist in a 3-2 semifinal setback to eventual champion Northeastern.