Commissioners Club
Boston College's Orpik, Boston University's Chiasson Win NHL's Highest Trophy
Hockey East Alumni Capture 2018 Stanley Cup
Boston College's Orpik, Boston University's Chiasson Win NHL's Highest Trophy

WAKEFIELD, Mass. - The Hockey East Association will have two more names etched onto the Stanley Cup following the Washington Capitals' 2018 championship run. The league boasted a strong footprint in the 2018 Stanley Cup Final, with alumni representing nine schools competing as the Vegas Golden Knights and the Capitals faced off for the National Hockey League's top prize.

Washington's roster featured two former Hockey East players, Boston College's Brooks Orpik (1998-2001) and Boston University's Alex Chiasson (2009-12). Orpik helped the Eagles to the 2001 NCAA championship, while Chiasson led the Terriers in scoring for two of his three seasons on campus. In the front office, Northeastern's A.J. Toews (1996-98) serves as a scout for the Capitals, while Vermont's H.T. Lenz (2010-14). Among the minor league affiliates of Washington, Boston College's Ryan Murphy (2001-05) served as an assistant coach for the Hershey Bears from 2014-18. Former Boston College forward Joe Whitney (2007-11), UMass Lowell forward Adam Chapie (2012-16), Merrimack forward Hampus Gustafsson (2013-17), and Providence forward Brian Pinho (2014-18) all compete for the minor league affiliates of Washington, while current New Hampshire defenseman Benton Maass (Elk River, Minn.) is a draft pick of the Capitals.

Vegas's roster carried Boston College Eagle Alex Tuch (2014-16), named to the 2015 Pro Ambitions All-Rookie Team after his freshman campaign in which he led the Eagles in scoring. In the front office, former Boston University Terrier Peter Ahola (1989-91) serves as an amateur scout for the Golden Knights. Additionally, current Boston College forward Graham McPhee (Bethesda, Md.) is the son of Golden Knights general manager George McPhee who played for Jerry York at Bowling Green State University where he won the Hobey Baker Award in 1982. Further, two Hockey East alumni compete in the minor leagues as property of Vegas, including 2011 Hockey East Player of the Year and former New Hampshire Wildcat Paul Thompson (2007-11) and Notre Dame's T.J. Tynan (2013-14), who competed in Hockey East for one year during the Irish's inaugural season in the league.

Last season, seven players on the Stanley Cup Champion Pittsburgh Penguins had roots in Hockey East, including Nick Bonino (BU, 2007-10), Brian Dumoulin (BC, 2009-12), Ron Hainsey (UML, 1999-2001), Chad Ruhwedel (UML, 2010-13), Bryan Rust (ND, 2013-14), Conor Sheary (UMass, 2010-14), and Scott Wilson (UML, 2011-14).