Weekly Release: Northeastern Wins 2016 Hockey East Tournament Title
Six Hockey East Programs Advance to NCAA Tournament
Warrior Hockey Player of the Week Nolan Stevens of Northeastern

AROUND HOCKEY EAST: Northeastern captured the Hockey East Tournament championship for the first time since 1988. The title ensured an auto-qualification to the NCAA Tournament, the Huskies' first appearance since 2009. Northeastern joins five other Hockey East teams in the 16-team NCAA field, the most of any conference. Alongside Northeastern will be Boston College, Boston University, UMass Lowell, Notre Dame and Providence, who earned a berth as a No. 1 seed, and the fourth seed overall ... Jim Madigan, who skated for the Huskies as a player, captured the Lamoriello Trophy as Hockey East champions, becoming the fifth consecutive coach to guide his alma mater to the Hockey East Tournament title. The previous 12 champions have all been led by a former player, including Boston College by Jerry York (2005, 2007-08, 2010-2012), Boston University by Jack Parker (2006, 2009) and David Quinn (2015), and UMass Lowell by Norm Bazin (2013-14) ... All-time, Hockey East has sent 105 teams to the NCAA Tournament, more than any other conference since the league's founding in 1985 ... With Northeastern's advancement to the NCAA Tournament this year, Hockey East has now had 10 of its 12 members appear in the NCAA playoffs since 2011 and 11 of its 12 institutions skate in the NCAA Tournament since 2007. UConn, which joined Hockey East in two seasons ago, is the lone member to never appear in the NCAA postseason ... UMass Lowell advanced to the Hockey East title game for the fourth year in a row, the second-longest such streak in league history. Maine skated in the championship game seven years in a row from 1987-1993 ... River Hawks goaltender Kevin Boyle (Manalapan, N.J.) was named Hockey East Tournament MVP. It marked the first time a player from the second-place finisher was named MVP since BU netminder Sean Fields was given the award after a 1-0 overtime loss to New Hampshire in 2003 ... The Hockey East All-Tournament Team was comprised of Boyle, a unanimous selection, and defensemen Colton Saucerman (Colorado Springs, Colo./Northeastern), Dylan Zink (Madison, Wis./UMass Lowell), and forwards C.J. Smith (Des Moines, Iowa/UMass Lowell), Kevin Roy (Lac-Beauport, Que./Northeastern).


Nolan Stevens, NU (So., F; Sea Isle City, N.J.) netted two goals and added two assists to pace the Hockey East Tournament champions with four points. Stevens helped lead the Huskies to the first Hockey East Tournament title since 1988 and into the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2009. He was also named to the All-Tournament Team.


Adam Gaudette, NU (Fr., F; Braintree, Mass.) recorded three points on two goals and one assist to help propel the Northeastern Huskies to the Hockey East championship title for the first time since 1988. The freshman had a goal and an assist in the semifinal against Boston College and found the back of the net in the championship tilt.


Kevin Boyle, UML (Sr., G; Manalapan, N.J.) was named the most valuable player of the 2016 Hockey East Tournament after backstopping the River Hawks to a fourth consecutive title game appearance. He made 58 saves in a triple-overtime victory against Providence in the semifinals, a contest that proved to be the ninth-longest game in NCAA history (112:27). He stopped 21 pucks in the title game. Boyle was also named Warrior Hockey East Co-Player of the Year Thursday night and to the All-Tournament Team.


Colton Saucerman, NU (Sr., D; Colorado Springs, Colo.) Was named to the Hockey East All-Tournament Team after anchoring the Huskies' defense en route to capturing the Hockey East Tournament title.

Kevin Roy, NU (Sr., F; Lac-Beauport, Que.) Named to the Hockey East All-Tournament team after collecting nine points over the course of the playoffs, including adding an assist in the semifinals.

Ryan Ruck, NU (Fr., G; Coto de Caza, Calif.) Went 2-0 to improve his Hockey East Tournament record to 6-0, posting 42 saves in two games to backbone Northeastern to the Hockey East championship.

C.J. Smith, UML (So., F; Des Moines, Ill.) Earned Hockey East All-Tournament honors after netting a goal in the semifinals for the River Hawks, helping them reach the title game for the fourth consecutive year.

Dylan Zink, UML (Jr., D; Madison, Wis.) Assisted on a goal in the Hockey East title game and earned Hockey East All-Tournament Team honors.