Record 59 Hockey East Alumni Named to NHL Rosters
2015-16 NHL Season Begins Tonight With Strong HEA Flair
Five players that skated in the 2014-15 Hockey East season were named to an NHL club

WAKEFIELD, Mass. – A record 59 alumni of Hockey East schools will start the 2015-2016 season on National Hockey League rosters, it was announced Wednesday afternoon. A full listing of players, schools and teams is below.

Boston College boasts the highest total, with 16 former Eagles earning an NHL roster spot, including 2014 Hobey Baker Award winner and 2015 Calder Trophy finalist Johnny Gaudreau. Boston University developed 11 players tabbed to rosters, including 2015 Hobey Baker Award winner Jack Eichel. Maine produced seven players, while Notre Dame and Vermont produced five players named to NHL clubs. Northeastern and New Hampshire send four former players, Massachusetts and UMass Lowell each send three, and Providence claims one alumnus.

Five players that skated in the 2014-15 Hockey East season were named to an NHL club in Grayson Downing (New Hampshire), Eichel (BU), Noah Hanifin (Boston College), Ben Hutton (Maine), and Matt O'Connor (Boston University). Hockey East alumni are featured on 27 of 30 NHL teams and 12 carry at least three Hockey East alumni: Boston, Carolina, Dallas, Detroit, Edmonton, Minnesota, Nashville, New Jersey, New York Rangers, Pittsburgh, San Jose and Tampa Bay.

Boston College (16): Cam Atkinson (CBJ), Brian Boyle (TBL), Brian Dumoulin (PIT), Patrick Eaves (DAL), Johnny Gaudreau (CAL), Nathan Gerbe (CAR), Brian Gionta (BUF), Stephen Gionta (NJD), Noah Hanifin^ (CAR), Jimmy Hayes (BOS), Kevin Hayes (NYR), Chris Kreider (NYR), Brooks Orpik (WSH - IR), Cory Schneider (NJD), Rob Scuderi (PIT), Ben Smith (SJS).

Boston University (11): Nick Bonino (PIT), Alex Chiasson (OTT), Adam Clendening (PIT), Charlie Coyle (MIN), Jack Eichel^ (BUF), Eric Gryba (EDM), Matt Nieto (SJS), Matt O'Conno r^ (OTT), Kevin Shattenkirk (STL), Brian Strait (NYI), Colin Wilson (NSH).

Maine (7): Ben Bishop (TBL), Scott Darling (CHI), Brian Flynn (MTL), Jimmy Howard (DET), Ben Hutton^ (VAN), Gustav Nyquist (DET), Teddy Purcell (EDM).

Massachusetts (3): Justin Braun (SJS), Matt Irwin (BOS), Jonathan Quick (LAK).

UMass Lowell (3): Christian Folin (MIN), Ron Hainsey (CAR), Carter Hutton (NSH).

New Hampshire (4): Grayson Downing^ (MIN - IR), James van Riemsdyk (T OR), Trevor van Riemsdyk (CHI), Daniel Winnik (TOR).

Northeastern (4): Anthony Bitetto (NSH), Josh Manson (ANA), Jamie Oleksiak (DAL), Joe Vitale (ARZ).

Notre Dame (5): Ian Cole* (PIT), Erik Condra* (TBL), Anders Lee* (NYI), Kyle Palmieri* (NJD), Riley Sheahan* (DET).

Providence (1): Mark Fayne (EDM).

Vermont (5): Connor Brickley (FLA), Kevan Miller (BOS), Torrey Mitchell (MTL), Patrick Sharp* (DAL), Viktor Stalberg (NYR).

*Competed prior to school's entry into Hockey East