News from the



AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION

For immediate release: Thursday, March 17, 2022

2021-22 CCM/AHCA Women's Division I All-Americans Announced

The top thirteen female hockey players in the nation have been recognized as 2021-22 CCM/AHCA WOMEN'S DIVISION I ICE **HOCKEY ALL-AMERICANS**. Five of the honorees have been recognized in the past, most of them numerous times.

Noteworthy among the selections:

- NCAA semifinalist Northeastern boasts four players on the two teams, two on each team. The other NCAA semifinalists Minnesota Duluth, Ohio State and Yale — combine for four players recognized.
- Northeastern goalie Aerin Frankel is a First Team selection for the third consecutive year.
- Three forwards are recognized for the fourth time in their NCAA careers: UMD's Elizabeth Giguere, NU's Alina Mueller, and Wisconsin's Darvl Watts.
- Northeastern senior defenseman Skylar Fontaine moves up to the First Team after two years on the Second Team.
- Four players hail from Canada, seven players come from the United States, and one each from Austria and Switzerland.
- The leading geographic source of players is the state Minnesota with three selections.
- There are two juniors, six seniors and five in their fifth year.
- Six selections came from Hockey East, five from the WCHA and two from ECAC Hockey.

The CCM/AHCA HOCKEY ALL-AMERICAN ICE HOCKEY TEAMS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

2021-22 CCM HOCKEY WOMEN'S DIVISION I ALL-AMERICANS

First Team

Second Team Aerin Frankel, GR, Northeastern University@* Goalie Lucy Morgan, JR, St. Lawrence University (Briarcliff Manor, NY) (Mandan, ND) Skylar Fontaine, GR, Northeastern University@** ## Maude Poulin-Labelle, SR, University of Vermont Defense (East Greenwich, RI) (Sherbrooke, PQ) Sophie Jagues, SR, Ohio State University Emma Seitz, JR, Yale University Defense (Toronto, ON) (New York, NY) Taylor Heise, SR, University of Minnesota Elizabeth Giguere, GR. University of Minnesota Duluth*#&& Forward (Lake City, MN) (Quebec City, PQ) Gabbie Hughes, SR, University of Minnesota Duluth Forward Alina Mueller, SR, Northeastern University@* ## (Lino Lakes, MN) (Winterthur, Switzerland) Maureen Murphy, GR, Northeastern University Theresa Schafzahl, SR, University of Vermont Forward (Weiz, Austria) (Buffalo, NY) Daryl Watts, GR, University of Wisconsin@** & Forward (Toronto, ON)

@First Team in 2021

*First Team in 2020; **Second Team in 2020 #First Team in 2019: ## Second Team in 2019 & First Team in 2018; && Second Team in 2018



JOE BERTAGNA Executive Director

7 Concord Street Gloucester, MA 01930 (978) 376-5494 j2b2hockey@gmail.com **CASEY JONES** President

Clarkson University Potsdam, NY 13699 (315) 268-3874 cjones@clarkson.edu **BRUCE DELVENTHAL Treasurer**

7298 Salerno Court Naples, FL 34114 (518) 420-7479 bflyfish@earthlink.net