

PRESS RELEASE

contact: Brian Smith | bsmith@hockeyeastonline.com | 339.227.2988 | @BriSmiHE The Hockey East Association | 591 North Avenue #2 | Wakefield, MA | 01880

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: FEBRUARY 27, 2021

Hockey East Names 2020-21 Women's All-Star Teams

League Honors Three All-Star Teams During 19th Annual Tournament

WAKEFIELD, Mass. - The Hockey East Association announced its 2020-21 Women's All-Star Teams as voted by the women's league's 10 head coaches as part of the celebration of the 19th annual Hockey East Tournament.

Two players were selected unanimously as 2020-21 Hockey East First Team All-Stars, including Northeastern senior defenseman **Skylar Fontaine** (East Greenwich, R.I.) and her teammate junior forward **Alina Mueller** (Winterthur, Switzerland.) First Team selections were rounded out by Huskies' junior forward **Chloé Aurard** (Villard-de-Lans, France) and a Boston College junior duo in defenseman **Cayla Barnes** (Eastvale, Calif.) and forward **Kelly Browne** (Burlington, Mass.) Northeastern senior goaltender **Aerin Frankel** (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.), named to the first team for the third year in a row, also collected accolades as the Best Western Windjammer Goaltender of the Year.

Comprising the Hockey East All-Star Second Team are goaltender **Loryn Porter** (North Bay, Ont./Maine), defensemen **Brooke Hobson** (Prince Albert, Sask./Northeastern) and **Maude Poulin-Labelle** (Sherbrooke, Que./Vermont), and forwards **Jesse Compher** (Northbrook, Ill./Boston University), **Sara Hjalmarsson** (Bankeryd, Sweden/Providence), and **Ida Kuoppala** (Pedersore, Finland//Maine.)

For just the third time ever, Hockey East has named an All-Star Third Team, including goaltender **Sandra Abstreiter** (Freising, Germany/Providence), defensemen **Lauren DeBlois** (Lewiston, Maine/Providence) and **Antonia Matzka** (Mödling, Austria/Holy Cross), and forwards **Hannah Bilka** (Coppell, Texas/Boston College), **Maureen Murphy** (Buffalo, N.Y./Northeastern), and **Natalie Snodgrass** (Eagan, Minn./UConn.)

The 2021 Women's Tournament continues with quarterfinals on Sunday, February 28 at the campus of the higher seeds. Semifinals are slated to take place on Wednesday, March 3 with the championship game held on Saturday, March 6 to determine the winner of the 2021 Bertagna Trophy and an automatic berth into the National Championship Tournament. For a full schedule and television information, visit HockeyEastOnline.com.

Hockey East will announce finalists for the Player, Rookie, and Coach of the Year awards on Monday, March 1 at 1:00 p.m. The winners of those awards will then be revealed prior to the semifinals on Wednesday, March 3.

First-Team All-Stars

G: Aerin Frankel, Senior, Northeastern D: Cayla Barnes, Junior, Boston College D: Skylar Fontaine, Senior, Northeastern * F: Chloé Aurard, Junior, Northeastern F: Kelly Browne, Junior, Boston College

F: Alina Mueller, Junior, Northeastern*

2020-21 HOCKEY EAST ALL-STARS

Second-Team All-Stars

- G: Loryn Porter, Senior, Maine
- D: Brooke Hobson, Senior, Northeastern
- D: Maude Poulin-Labelle, Junior, Vermont
- F: Jesse Compher, Senior, Boston University
- F: Sara Hjalmarsson, Junior, Providence
- F: Ida Kuoppala, Sophomore, Maine

Third-Team All-Stars

G: Sandra Abstreiter, Senior, Providence D: Lauren DeBlois, Sophomore, Providence D: Antonia Matzka, Senior, Holy Cross F: Hannah Bilka, Sophomore, Boston College F: Maureen Murphy, Junior, Northeastern F: Natalie Snodgrass, Senior, UConn

*denotes unanimous selection

2021 Hockey East Women's Tournament Schedule

Day	Date	Away	Home	Time	TV/Streaming
Sun.	Feb. 28	#6 Boston University	#3 Providence	1:00 p.m.	SportsLive
Sun.	Feb. 28	#5 Maine	#4 Vermont	2:00 p.m.	SportsLive
Sun.	Feb. 28	#7 UConn	#2 Boston College	4:30 p.m.	NESN
Sun.	Feb. 28	#8 New Hampshire	#1 Northeastern	7:00 p.m.	NESN
Wed.	March 3	Semifinal #1		TBA	TBA
Wed.	March 3	Semifinal #2		TBA	TBA
Sat.	March 6	Championship Game		TBA	TBA

HOCKEY EAST













