

# HOCKEY EAST PLAYER OF THE YEAR



Knight becomes the first Boston College netminder to win the league's top individual award outright after Thatcher Demko shared the honors in 2015-16. During the Hockey East regular season, Knight led the league with 15 wins, five more than any other goalie, and a 15-2-1 record. His .937 save percentage was tied for tops in Hockey East and was third-best in the NCAA while he carried a 1.99 goals against average which was second-best among all league backstops. Knight faced 570 shots in his 18 starts, the third-highest total of any league netminder, making 534 saves across 1087:35 of work to average nearly 30 saves per game. He began the season with an 11-game personal unbeaten streak (10-0-1) and did not drop a game until February 6. The sophomore netminder posted 10 games of at least 30 saves, including four straight to start the year, including consecutive shutouts of then-No. 12 Providence College. He was tabbed the Stop It Goaltender of the Month for November and December 2020 and Hockey East Army ROTC Player of the Week on December 7. He was named a finalist for the Mike Richter Award, given annually to the top men's goaltender in NCAA Ice Hockey, for the second straight year on February 26. Knight spent a month of the season with the U.S. National Junior Team where he won the gold medal as the starting goaltender at the World Junior Championship. During the tournament, the recorded three shutouts for the red, white, and blue, the most by any goaltender in the history of a single tournament. The 13th overall selection of the Florida Panthers in the 2019 NHL Entry Draft stopped all 34 shots he faced in the gold medal game, marking the first shutout in the championship game of the World Juniors since 2012. The shutout also marked the first shutout by a USA team in the World Junior Championship medal round and gave Knight sole ownership of the most career shutouts for a Team USA netminder in the tournament.



### WALTER BROWN AWARD

The GridIron Club of Greater Boston presents this award to the best American-born college hockey player in New England.

#### Walter Brown Award History

Year	Player, School	Year	Player, School
1985	Tim Army, PC	2000	Mike Mottau, BC
1986	Scott Harlow, BC	2001	Ty Conklin, UNH
1987	Brian Leetch, BC		Brian Gionta, BC
1988	Mike McHugh, ME	2002	Jim Fahey, NU
1990	Greg Brown, BC	2003	Mike Ayers, UNH
1991	Dave Emma, BC	2004	Steve Saviano, UNH
1992	Rob Gaudreau, PC	2006	Chris Collins, BC
1993	Dave Sacco, BU	2007	John Curry, BU
1994	Jacques Joubert, BU	2008	Kevin Regan, UNH
1995	Mike Grier, BU	2009	Matt Gilroy, BU
1996	Jay Pandolfo, BU	2010	Bobby Butler, UNH
1997	Chris Drury, BU	2011	John Muse, BC
1998	Chris Drury, BU	2013	Steven Whitney, BC
1999	Mike Mottau, BC	2014	Johnny Gaudreau, BC
	Mike Omicioli, PC	2017	Joe Gambardella, UML
		2018	Adam Gaudette, NU
		2020	Jeremy Swayman, ME

2021

# Spencer Knight - Boston College

Sophomore Goaltender; Darien, Connecticut

2020-21	GP	W	L	т	GAA	SV%
	34	16	4	1	2.17	.932

## PLAYER OF THE YEAR HISTORY

Season	Player	CI.	Pos.	
1984-85	Chris Terreri	Jr.	G	Providence
1985-86	Scott Harlow	Sr.	F	Boston College
1986-87	Brian Leetch	Fr.	D	Boston College
1987-88	Mike McHugh	Sr.	F	Maine
1988-89	Greg Brown	So.	D	Boston College
1989-90	Greg Brown	Jr.	D	Boston College
1990-91	David Emma #	Sr.	F	Boston College
1991-92	Scott Pellerin #	Sr.	F	Maine
1992-93	Paul Kariya #	Fr.	F	Maine
1993-94	Dwayne Roloson	Sr.	G	UMass Lowell
1994-95	Chris Imes	Sr.	D	Maine
1996-96	Jay Pandolfo	Sr.	F	Boston University
1996-97	Chris Drury	Jr.	F	Boston University
1997-98	Chris Drury #	Sr.	F	Boston University
1998-99	Jason Krog #	Sr.	F	New Hampshire
1999-00	Ty Conklin	So.	G	New Hampshire
	Mike Mottau #	Sr.	D	Boston College
2000-01	Brian Gionta	Sr.	F	Boston College
2001-02	Darren Haydar	Sr.	F	New Hampshire
2002-03	Mike Ayers	Jr.	G	New Hampshire
	Ben Eaves	Jr.	F	Boston College
2003-04	Steve Saviano	Sr.	F	New Hampshire
2004-05	Patrick Eaves	Jr.	F	Boston College
2005-06	Chris Collins	Sr.	F	Boston College
2006-07	John Curry	Sr.	G	Boston University
2007-08	Kevin Regan	Sr.	G	New Hampshire
2008-09	Brad Thiessen	Jr.	G	Northeastern
2009-10	Bobby Butler	Sr.	F	New Hampshire
2010-11	Paul Thompson	Sr.	F	New Hampshire
2011-12	Spencer Abbott	Sr.	F	Maine
2012-13	Johnny Gaudreau	So.	F	Boston College
2013-14	Johnny Gaudreau #	Jr.	F	Boston College
2014-15	Jack Eichel #	Fr.	F	Boston University
2015-16	Kevin Boyle	Sr.	G	UMass Lowell
	Thatcher Demko	Jr.	G	Boston College
2016-17	Zach-Aston Reese	Sr.	F	Northeastern
2017-18	Adam Gaudette #	Jr.	F	Northeastern
2018-19	Cale Makar #	So.	D	Massachusetts
2019-20	Jeremy Swayman	Jr.	G	Maine
2020-21	Spencer Knight	So.	G	Boston College

# denotes Hobey Baker winner









Bobby Trivigno, UM









