

BAUER / BOB KULLEN COACH OF THE YEAR

This award is given in the name of the late Bob Kullen, who served as head coach of the UNH Wildcats. The award goes to the head coach who is considered to have demonstrated the highest number of significant accomplishments over the course of the season as voted by the conference's head coaches. York has earned his fifth nod as the league's top coach after leading the Eagles to a 16-4-1 record and the top seed in the Hockey East Tournament for the 10th time during his tenure. York's offense scored 3.90 goals per game, the second highest total in the NCAA during the regular season, while allowing just 2.19 goals per game, second-best in Hockey East. The Eagles' penalty kill operated at a rate of 85.8%, good for second in the conference and 11th nationally and scored a national-best eight shorthanded goals, nearly double any another team in the country.



Jerry York won his fifth coach of the year award in 2020-21.

Coach Of The Year Award History

Season	Coach	Team
1984-85 1985-86 1986-87 1987-88 1988-89 1989-90 1990-91 1991-93 1993-94 1994-95 1995-96 1996-97 1997-98 1998-99 1999-00 2000-01 2001-02 2002-03 2003-04 2004-05 2005-06 2006-07 2007-08 2008-09 2009-10 2011-12 2011-13 2011-13 2013-14 2011-15	Len Ceglarski Jack Parker Bill Riley, Jr. Shawn Walsh Fern Flaman Shawn Walsh Dick Umile Jack Parker Shawn Walsh Bruce Crowder Shawn Walsh Bruce Crowder Dick Umile Bruce Crowder Dick Umile Jack Parker Paul Pooley Dick Umile Don Cahoon Jerry York Jack Parker Jack Parker Dick Umile Don Cahoon Jerry York Jack Parker Jack Daniel Jerry York Norm Bazin Jerry York David Quinn	Boston College Boston University Lowell Maine Northeastern Maine New Hampshire Boston University Maine UMass Lowell Maine UMass Lowell Maine UMass Lowell New Hampshire Northeastern New Hampshire Boston University Providence New Hampshire Massachusetts Boston College Boston University New Hampshire Vermont Northeastern Merrimack New Hampshire Boston College UMass Lowell UMass Lowell Boston College Boston College Boston College Boston College
2015-16 2016-17 2017-18 2018-19 2019-20 2020-21	Nate Leaman Norm Bazin Jerry York Greg Carvel Red Gendron Jerry York	Providence UMass Lowell Boston College Massachusetts Maine Boston College

SPENCER T. PENROSE AWARD

The American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) annually selects the NCAA Division-I Coach of the Year and presents him with the Penrose Award. The trophy is named in memory of Spencer T. Penrose, the man whose fortune in gold and copper built the famous Broadmoor Hotel and athletic complex in Colorado Springs, the site of the first 10 NCAA hockey championships.

Massachusetts' Greg Carvel became the eighth Hockey East coach to win the nation's highest college hockey coaching honor when he was chosen by his peers in 2018-19, just his third season behind the bench of the Minutemen

nness Award History

Penrose Award History						
(Hockey East winners)						
Coach	Team Se	<u>asons</u>				
Len Ceglarski	Boston College	1985				
Shawn Walsh	Maine	1995				
Bruce Crowder	UMass Lowell	1996				
Dick Umile	New Hampshire	1999				
Tim Whitehead	Maine	2002				
Jack Parker	Boston University	2009				
Norm Bazin	UMass Lowell	2013				
Greg Carvel	Massachusetts	2019				

Pre-1985 winners with ties to Hockey East:

Len Ceglarski	Boston College	1966, 1973
Fern Flaman	Northeastern	1982
Charlie Holt	New Hampshire	1969, 1974, 1979
Jack Parker	Boston University	1975, 1978
Jerry York	Clarkson	1977

CLARK HODDER AWARD

Each spring, the New England Hockey Writers Association select a Division-I Coach of the Year Award for New England schools. The award, named after former Harvard University head coach Clark Hodder, has been dominated in recent years by Hockey East head coaches, who have won 30 of the 35 presented since the league's inaugural season of 1984-85.

Hodder Award History - Hockey East winners			
Coach	Team	<u>Seasons</u>	
Jack Parker	Boston University	1986, 2000, 2005, 2006	
D: 1 11 11	A1 11 1:	(1978, 1984)	
Dick Umile	New Hampshire	1991, 1999, 2002, 2008	
Shawn Walsh		1988, 1993, 1995	
	UMass-Lowell	1994, 1996	
Don Cahoon		2003, 2007	
Mark Dennehy	Merrimack	2010, 2011	
Ron Anderson	Merrimack	1997	
Norm Bazin	UMass-Lowell	2012	
Len Ceglarski	Boston College	1985 (1973)	
Greg Cronin	Northeastern	2009` ′	
Bob Kullen	New Hampshire	1990	
Mike McShane	Providence Providence	1989	
Paul Pooley	Providence	2001	
Bill Riley, Jr.	Lowell	1987	
Jerry York	Boston College	2004, 2014, 2018	
David Quinn	Boston University	2015	
Jim Madigan	Northeastern	2016	
Greg Carvel	Massachusetts	2019	
Red Gendron	Maine	2020	
rica acriaion	IVIGILIO	2020	

Pre-1985 winners with ties to Hockey East:
Fern Flaman Northeastern 1982

1977, 1979 1980 Charlie Holt New Hampshire Lou Lamoriello Providence





















