

Award Winners

BAUER / BOB KULLEN COACH OF THE YEAR

This award is given in the name of the late Bob Kullen, who served as head coach of the UNH Wildcats. The award goes to the head coach who is considered to have demonstrated the highest number of significant accomplishments over the course of the season as voted by the conference's head coaches. Greg Carvel brought UMass to the national title game after leading Massachusetts to a banner year in which his squad captured its first-ever Hockey East regular season crown. Carvel guided UMass to an 18-6-0 record in Hockey East in his third season at the helm and a 31-10-0 overall mark. The 31 overall wins and 18 conference victories were both the most ever in the history of the program. It also marks just the third time since 2011-12 that a Hockey East program reached 18 wins in conference contests. He coached the highest-scoring league offense (3.83 GPG) and the second-best defense in the conference (2.12 GPG). Under his direction, the Minutemen operated the most efficient power-play unit, converting on 29 of 93 attempts for a 31.2% success rate, and the fourth-best penalty killing unit in the league, allowing just 14 power-play goals in 93 kill attempts, good for an 84.9% success rate. The Minutemen had the most goals (92) of any team to go along with a league-best plus-41 goal differential in 24 conference contests. Carvel becomes just the second-ever coach to win both the ECAC Hockey and Hockey East Coach of the Year awards after being so honored after the 2014-15 season at St. Lawrence.



Boston College's Jerry York led the Eagles to their 16th Hockey East regular season title in 2017-18.

SPENCER T. PENROSE AWARD

The American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) annually selects the NCAA Division-I Coach of the Year and presents him with the Penrose Award. The trophy is named in memory of Spencer T. Penrose, the man whose fortune in gold and copper built the famous Broadmoor Hotel and athletic complex in Colorado Springs, the site of the first 10 NCAA hockey championships.

Massachusetts' Greg Carvel became the eighth Hockey East coach to win the nation's highest college hockey coaching honor when he was chosen by his peers in 2018-19, just his third season behind the bench of the Minutemen

Penrose Award History

(Hockey East winners)				
Team S	<u>Seasons</u>			
Boston College	1985			
Maine	1995			
UMass Lowell	1996			
New Hampshire	e 1999			
Maine	2002			
Boston Univers	ity 2009			
UMass Lowell	2013			
Massachusetts	2019			
	Team S Boston College Maine UMass Lowell New Hampshire Maine Boston Univers UMass Lowell			

Pre-1985 winners with ties to Hockey East:

Len Ceglarski	Boston College	1966, 1973
Fern Flaman	Northeastern	1982
Charlie Holt	New Hampshire	1969, 1974, 1979
Jack Parker	Boston University	1975, 1978
Jerry York	Clarkson	1977

Coach Season	Of The Year Coach	Award History Team
1984-85	Len Ceglarski	Boston College
1985-86	Jack Parker	Boston University
1986-87	Bill Riley, Jr.	Lowell
1987-88	Shawn Walsh	Maine
1988-89	Fern Flaman	Northeastern
1989-90	Shawn Walsh	Maine
1990-91	Dick Umile	New Hampshire
1991-92	Jack Parker	Boston University
1992-93	Shawn Walsh	Maine
1993-94	Bruce Crowder	UMass Lowell
1994-95	Shawn Walsh	Maine
1995-96	Bruce Crowder	UMass Lowell
1996-97	Dick Umile	New Hampshire
1997-98	Bruce Crowder	Northeastern
		New Hampshire
		,
		1
		0
2009-10		
2010 11		
		,
		UMass Lowell
2017-18	Jerry York	
2018-19	Greg Carvel	Massachusetts
1993-94 1994-95 1995-96 1996-97 1997-98 1998-99 1999-00 2000-01 2001-02 2002-03 2003-04 2004-05 2005-06 2006-07 2007-08 2008-09 2009-10 2010-11 2010-11 2012-13 2013-14 2014-15 2015-16 2016-17 2017-18	Shawn Walsh Bruce Crowder Dick Umile Bruce Crowder Dick Umile Jack Parker Paul Pooley Dick Umile Don Cahoon Jerry York Jack Parker Jack Parker Jack Parker Dick Umile Kevin Sneddon Greg Cronin Mark Dennehy Dick Umile Jerry York Norm Bazin Jerry York David Quinn Nate Leaman Norm Bazin Jerry York	Maine UMass Lowell New Hampshire Northeastern New Hampshire Boston University Providence New Hampshire Massachusetts Boston College Boston University Boston University New Hampshire Vermont Northeastern Merrimack New Hampshire Boston College UMass Lowell UMass Lowell Boston College Boston University Providence UMass Lowell Boston College

CLARK HODDER AWARD

Each spring, the New England Hockey Writers Association select a Division-I Coach of the Year Award for New England schools. The award, named after former Harvard University head coach Clark Hodder, has been dominated in recent years by Hockey East head coaches, who have won 30 of the 35 presented since the league's inaugural season of 1984-85.

Hodder Award History				
(Hockey East w		-		
<u>Coach</u>	Team	<u>Seasons</u>		
Jack Parker	Boston University	1986, 2000, 2005, 2006 (1978, 1984)		
Dick Umile	New Hampshire	1991, 1999, 2002, 2008		
Shawn Walsh	Maine	1988, 1993, 1995		
Bruce Crowder	UMass-Lowell	1994, 1996		
Don Cahoon	Massachusetts	2003, 2007		
Mark Dennehy	Merrimack	2010, 2011		
Ron Anderson	Merrimack	1997		
Norm Bazin	UMass-Lowell	2012		
Len Ceglarski	Boston College	1985 (1973)		
Greg Cronin	Northeastern	2009		
Bob Kullen	New Hampshire	1990		
Mike McShane		1989		
Paul Pooley		2001		
Bill Riley, Jr.	Lowell	1987		
Jerry York	Boston College	2004, 2014, 2018		
David Quinn	Boston University	2015		
Jim Madigan	Northeastern	2016		
Greg Carvel	Massachusetts	2019		
Pre-1985 winners with ties to Hockey East:				
Fern Flaman	Northeastern	1982		
Charlie Holt	New Hampshire	1977, 1979		
Lou Lamoriello	Providence	1980		

