

## PRESS RELEASE

contact: Brian Smith | bsmith@hockeyeastonline.com | 339.227.2988 | @brismi22 591 North Avenue #2 | Wakefield, MA | 01880 | 781.245.2122

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: SEPTEMBER 26, 2019

## Mark Divver Named 2019 Joe Concannon Award Winner

Veteran Providence-Based Writer Honored As 28th Recipient of Award

**WAKEFIELD, Mass.** - **Mark Divver** has been named the recipient of the prestigious Joe Concannon Award, Hockey East Commissioner **Joe Bertagna** announced today from the league's annual media day at TD Garden.

"Mark has been a solid contributor to our college hockey culture and this honor is well-deserved," said Bertagna. "The conference — and all of college hockey — has enjoyed the benefits of Mark's long and distinguished career. I am glad he will be reaching a new audience with his USCHO and NHL.com assignments."

A Rhode Island native, Divver grew up a passionate hockey fan, routing for his hometown Providence Reds of the AHL while attending Providence College Friars and Brown University Bears games. Upon graduating from the University of Rhode Island, Divver began his journalism career with newspapers around Connecticut and on Cape Cod before joining the Providence Journal in 1988 where he would remain for 31 years.

Divver worked as a ProJo news editor for several years before moving to the sports department as an assistant sports editor. It was during this time that Divver became the lead hockey writer for the Providence Journal in addition to his former duties.

Over the last 10 years, Divver has served the Rhode Island community as the preeminent hockey writer in the area, covering all levels of hockey including the Providence Bruins and Providence College Friars, including each of the Friars NCAA Tournament appearances and 2015 National Championship season.

After leaving the ProJo after the completion of the 2018-19 season, Divver will continue his writing for U.S. College Hockey Online and NHL.com.

**ABOUT THE JOE CONCANNON HOCKEY EAST MEDIA AWARD:** The prestigious honor, named in 2001 in memory of beloved Boston Globe sportswriter Joe Concannon, is bestowed annually upon an individual who has demonstrated an outstanding body of work in covering and promoting the interests of the Hockey East Association.

## Joe Concannon Hockey East Media Award History

<u>Year</u>	Recipient, Affiliation	<u>Year</u>	Recipient, Affiliation
1992	Larry Mahoney, Bangor Daily News	2006	Dan Hannigan, Maine Radio/Cod Rock Media
1993	Bob Whitelaw, New England Sports Network	2007	Allen Lessels, New Hampshire Union Leader
1994	Bob Monahan, Boston Globe	2008	Mike Logan, Providence College Radio
1995	John Connolly, Boston Herald	2009	Bob Ellis, UMass Lowell Radio
1996	Charles Scoggins, Lowell Sun	2010	Brock Hines, UMass Sports Network
1997	Bob Norton, New England Sports Network	2011	Mike Machnik, Merrimack Radio, CHN & USCHO
1998	Joe Concannon, Boston Globe	2012	Jim Connelly, USCHO
1999	Dick Osborne, UNH Sports Network	2013	Dan Parkhurst, UNH Radio/TV & Merrimack Radio
2000	Bill Doherty, Huskies Radio	2014	Pete Webster, UNH Wildcat Sports Radio Network
2001	Dave Hendrickson, USCHO	2015	Nancy Marrapese-Burrell, The Boston Globe
2002	Roger Brown, Portsmouth Herald	2016	Ted Ryan, Burlington Free Press
2003	Bernie Corbett, BU Radio	2017	Pete Souris, New Hampshire/Hockey East/UMass Lowell
2004	Rob Rudnick, Huskies Radio	2018	Tom Caron, NESN
2005	Eric Frede, NESN/Cod Rock Media	2019	Mark Divver, Providence Journal/USCHO//NHL.com

# HEA #























