Bugalski, Northeastern Shut Out New Hampshire, 3-0
Sophomore goaltender Brittany Bugalski makes 30 saves to earn fourth shutout of season for Huskies

Sophomore goaltender Brittany Bugalski made 30 saves for the Huskies
Prd Time  Team Score Type Scored By Assists
2nd 12:12  NOE1-0 EV GW McKenna Brand (18)Denisa Křížová/15, Hayley Scamurra/14
2nd 15:17  NOE2-0 PP McKenna Brand (19)Kasidy Anderson/4, Denisa Křížová/16
3rd 15:31  NOE3-0 EV Denisa Křížová (12)McKenna Brand/10
Scoring 1st 2nd 3rd Final
Northeastern  0213
New Hampshire  0000
Shots on Goal 1st 2nd 3rd SOG
Northeastern  7141031
New Hampshire  981330
Team Stats and Records  PP PIM SHGF
Northeastern (13-7-3)  1/5 6/12 0
New Hampshire (9-12-1)  0/5 6/12 0
Northeastern Goaltending MIN GA 1 2 3 Saves
Brittany Bugalski (W, 13-6-3)59:440 981330
Empty Net0:160     
New Hampshire Goaltending MIN GA 1 2 3 Saves
Hilary Cashin (L, 8-5-1)58:293 712928
Empty Net1:310     

DURHAM, N.H. - Hilary Cashin (Fredericton, New Brunswick) recorded 28 saves but the University of New Hampshire women's ice hockey team was defeated by Northeastern University, 3-0, Saturday evening at the Whittemore Center.

UNH, which entered the game with a four-game win streak and six-game unbeaten streak (5-0-1), is now 9-12-1 overall and 7-7-1 in Hockey East. NU earned a split of the weekend home-and-home series to improve to 13-7-3, 9-5-2. Both road teams prevailed, as UNH won 3-2 in overtime at Matthews Arena on Friday night.

Cashin made 28 saves for the second consecutive day. NU counterpart Brittany Bugalski recorded 13 of her 30 saves in the third period.

Northeastern was led offensively by McKenna Brand (two goals, one assist) and Denisa Krizova (one goal, two assists).

For the Wildcats, Jonna Curtis (Elk River, Minn.) recorded team highs in both shots (six) and faceoffs won (10).


Date: Jan. 7, 2017 (4:30 p.m.)
Location: Whittemore Center (Durham, N.H.)
Attendance: 178
Score: Northeastern University 3, University of New Hampshire 0
Updated Records: UNH (9-12-1, 7-7-1 WHEA), NU (13-7-3, 9-5-2 WHEA)


UNH (0)
NU (3) - McKenna Brand (2), Denisa Krizova


UNH (0)
NU (5) - Denisa Krizova (2), McKenna Brand, Hayley Scamurra, Kasidy Anderson


UNH- Hilary Cashin 7-12-9-28 (3 GA) {58:29} (Loss)
NU- Brittany Bugalski 9-8-13-30 (0 GA) {59:44} (Win)


- UNH recorded a 9-7 shot advantage in the scoreless first period.

- The Wildcats had the best scoring chance of the opening frame after successfully killing a Huskies' power play late in the frame. Carlee Turner (Scottsdale, Ariz.) collected the puck in the neutral zone for a breakaway down the slot, and her shot from the slot was turned aside by Bugalski.

- Brand scored goals 3 minutes, 5 seconds apart in the second period to quickly transform a scoreless tie into a two-goal lead for the visitors.

- She struck first at 12:12 when she scored off her own rebound in front of the net. Brand struck again at 15:17 on the power play off another rebound. Cashin stopped Kasidy Anderson's initial shot from the high slot but Brand, with her back to the net in the low slot, corralled the puck, turned a swept the puck into the open right side of the net.

- UNH had a 5-on-3 power play for 42 seconds early in the third period, but the Huskies kept the 'Cats at bay and limited the home team to a total of two shots during the entire 3:18 of power play time.

- Krizova extended the advantage to 3-0 with 4:29 remaining in the game; both teams had a player in the penalty box at the time.


- UNH was shut out for the second time this season. The Wildcats were previously blanked Oct. 8 by then-No. 3 Quinnipiac University (also by a score of 3-0).

- Amy Schlagel (Blaine, Minn.) matched Curtis' team high total of six shots.


UNH: 6-12. NU: 6-12.


UNH: 0-5. NU: 1-5.


Points (0):
Goals (0):
Assists (0):
Shots (6): Jonna Curtis, Amy Schlagel
Blocked Shots (4): Julia Fedeski
Faceoffs Won (13): Jonna Curtis


Points (3): McKenna Brand, Denisa Krizova
Goals (2): McKenna Brand
Assists (2): Denisa Krizova
Shots (9): Kasidy Anderson
Blocked Shots (2): Paige Capistran
Faceoffs Won (8): Matti Hartman