

PRESS RELEASE

PETER SOURIS
Director of Public Relations
Hockey East Association

591 North Ave – #2 Wakefield, MA 01880 Office: (781) 245-2122

Cell: (603) 512-1166 psouris@HockeyEastOnline.com

For Immediate Release: Monday, March 2, 2009

BC'S SCHAUS AND UNH'S WAKEFIELD NAMED PATTY KAZMAIER FINALISTS

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The USA Hockey Foundation today announced today the 10 finalists for the 2009 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, which included two student-athletes from the Women's Hockey East Association. In its 12th year, the award annually recognizes the top player in NCAA Division I women's ice hockey.

Boston College junior goaltender Molly Schaus (Natick, Mass.) and sophomore forward Jenn Wakefield (Pickering, Ont.) from the University of New Hampshire were among the ten finalists.

Schaus is in the midst of her third season at BC, Schaus has led the Eagles to a 21-7-5 overall record with a 1.59 GAA and .941 save percentage with 10 shutouts in the regular season. She leads the NCAA in save percentage and ranks seventh in goals-against average. She also ranks second in the NCAA with 10 shutouts. Schaus also leads Hockey East in GAA, save percentage and winning percentage (73.4%).

Wakefield has recorded 32 goals and 17 assists for 49 points in 30 regular-season games to rank third in the nation in goals per game and 11th in points per game. She is the national leader in power-play goals (13) and game-winning goals (nine), and is third in shorthanded goals (four). Wakefield tallied 21 goals and nine assists for 30 points in 19 Hockey East league games. She also totaled 21 points (13 goals, 8 assists) in 14 games vs. nationally-ranked teams. She has recorded a point in 26 of 30 games with 15 multiple-point efforts, including four straight and eight of the last 10.

Other finalist included, Meghan Agosta (Ruthven, Ont.) from Mercyhurst College, Rebecca Johnston (Sudbury, Ont.) from Cornell University, Hilary Knight (Hanover, N.H.) from the University of Wisconsin, Monique Lamoureux (Grand Forks, N.D.) from the University of Minnesota, Erika Lawler (Fitchburg, Mass.) from the University of Wisconsin, Gigi Marvin (Warroad, Minn.) from the University of Minnesota, Sarah Vaillancourt (Sherbrooke, Que.) from Harvard University and Jessie Vetter (Cottage Grove, Wis.) from the University of Wisconsin.

The top-10 class represents all four women's college conferences in College Hockey America, ECAC Hockey, Hockey East and the Western Collegiate Hockey Association.

The award selection process began in early February, when NCAA Division I women's ice hockey coaches were asked to nominate players for the award. Nominated players were then placed on an official ballot, which was sent back to the coaches to vote for the top 10 finalists. The independent accounting firm PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP tabulated the ballots.

The three finalists for this year's award will be announced March 10 and the 2009 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award will be presented at a brunch ceremony at the Royal Sonesta Hotel Boston on March 21, in conjunction with the NCAA Women's Frozen Four, in Boston. Tickets to the event may be purchased at PattyKaz.com or by calling 800-566-3288, ext. 184 (\$85/individual seats, \$800/table of 10). Kathryn Tappen, who currently serves as New England Sports Network's Boston Bruins studio host and as a "SportsDesk" anchor and reporter, will serve as the master of ceremonies for the ceremony.

The Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is named in honor of the late Patty Kazmaier, who was a four-year varsity letter-winner and All-Ivy League defenseman for Princeton University from 1981-86.

The Women's Hockey East Association is an eight-team, Division-I college hockey conference which began play in 2002-2003, with offices based in Wakefield, Mass. The league also sponsors an 10 team men's league which began play in 1984-1985.

- HockevEastOnline.com -