

PRESS RELEASE

PETER SOURIS
Director of Public Relations
Hockey East Association

591 North Ave – #2 Wakefield, MA 01880 Office: (781) 245-2122 Cell: (603) 512-1166

psouris@HockeyEastOnline.com

For Immediate Release: Sunday, March 8, 2009

BOSTON COLLEGE AND NEW HAMPSHIRE PUNCH NCAA TOURNAMENT TICKET

WAKEFIELD, Mass. - The NCAA Division I Women's Ice Hockey Committee announced today the field of eight teams which will compete for the eighth NCAA Women's Frozen Four. No. 6 ranked Boston College earned an at-large berth, while No. 5 ranked New Hampshire earned Hockey East's automatic qualifier for the NCAA Quarterfinal round on Saturday afternoon.

UNH (24-5-5) will play host to Minnesota-Duluth on Saturday, March 14 at 1 p.m. at the Whittemore Center Arena for the NCAA Quarterfinal matchup. The Wildcats enter the NCAAs with a 15-game winning streak and they received an automatic bid to the NCAA Women's Ice Hockey Championship on Sunday afternoon by winning the 2009 Hockey East Championship Tournament with a 2-1 victory against sixth-ranked Boston College at the Whittemore Center. The Wildcats are making their fourth consecutive appearance in the NCAA tourney, and the 'Cats have been hosts of a regional all four years. New Hampshire, which has won four consecutive Hockey East regular-season and tourney titles, advanced to the Frozen Four in both 2006 and 2008.

The Eagles (22-8-5) enter the tournament as the number seven seed and will face WCHA foe Minnesota on Saturday March 14 at 4 p.m. at Ridder Arena in Minneapolis, Minnesota. BC is making its second all-time appearance in the NCAA Tournament. The Eagles went to the 2007 Frozen Four and lost a double overtime heartbreaker to Minnesota-Duluth, 4-3, in Lake Placid, N.Y.

Three conferences were awarded automatic bids for the 2009 tournament. The remaining five teams were selected at-large. The automatic qualifying conferences and their representatives are: the Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA), University of Wisconsin, Madison; Eastern Collegiate Athletic Conference (ECAC), Dartmouth College and Hockey East Association, the University of New Hampshire. Boston College, Mercyhurst College, University of Minnesota Duluth, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities and St. Lawrence University were all selected as at-large teams.

Two teams will compete at each of the four quarterfinal sites. Quarterfinals will be played Saturday, March 14, at four quarterfinal sites; Mercyhurst, Minnesota, New Hampshire and Wisconsin. The winning team from each quarterfinal will advance to the 2009 Women's Frozen Four.

The 2009 Women's Frozen Four will be hosted this year by Boston University, March 20 and 22, at Agganis Arena in Boston. The semifinal games will be played at 5 p.m. and 8 p.m. Eastern time, Friday, March 20 and streamed live on NCAA.com. The championship game will be played live at noon Eastern time, Sunday, March 22, on CBS College Sports Network. For more information regarding the National Collegiate Women's Ice Hockey Championship, log on to www.NCAA.com. For tickets to the 2009 Women's Frozen Four visit www.agganisarena.com

The Women's Hockey East Association is an eight-team, Division-I college hockey conference which began play in 2002-2003, with offices based in Wakefield, Mass. The league also sponsors an 10 team men's league which began play in 1984-1985.

- HockeyEastOnline.com -