Noah Smith Director of Media Relations Hockey East Association

Phone: (781) 245-2122 Fax: (781) 245-2492

nsmith@HockeyEastOnline.com

WOMEN'S LEAGUE

PRESS RELEASE



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: MARCH 11, 2005

JONES, THATCHER SHARE TOP PLAYER HONOR UConn's Jaclyn Hawkins named league's top rookie

For the second consecutive season, the coaches of the women's Hockey East Association could not narrow it down to a single player for recognition as the best in the league, so co-winners were again selected. UNH senior Stephanie Jones tied for fourth in league scoring with 14 goals and 12 assists, six points behind Providence sniper Karen Thatcher, who shared the Player of the Year Award with her. Thatcher was also selected as the Sportsmanship Award winner, edging out BC Humanitarian Award finalist Sarah Carlson for the second straight season.

With 18 goals in 18 league games played, UConn's Jaclyn Hawkins was a very strong selection as ITECH Rookie of the Year, ahead of BC's Deborah Spillane. Hawkins has already set new team records for goals and points and still has at least one more game to play.

BC's second-year head coach Tom Mutch was honored alongside UNH's Brian McCloskey as CCM Coach of the Year. McCloskey also won the award in his first year behind the UNH bench, 2002-03, which was also Hockey East's first year of play for the women's league. Mutch shifted his team into high gear down the stretch, as the Eagles posted a 4-1-1 league record in February which included wins over UConn and Providence, and a key sweep vs. Maine that vaulted BC into the Hockey East playoffs for the first time.

Players of the Year

Stephanie Jones, New Hampshire (Sr. F; Kimberley, BC) Karen Thatcher, Providence (Jr. F; Douglas, MA)

Hockey East Scoring Champion

Nicole Hekle, New Hampshire (33 points) (So. F; Winnipeg, MB) Runner-up: Karen Thatcher, Providence (32 points)

ITECH Goaltending Champion

Melissa Bourdon, New Hampshire (1.85 GAA) (So. G; Ile Bizard, QC) Runner-up: Kaitlyn Shain, Connecticut (1.91 GAA)

ITECH Rookie of the Year

Jaclyn Hawkins, Connecticut (Fr. F; Manotick, ON) Runner-up: Deborah Spillane, Boston College



CCM Coaches of the Year

Brian McCloskey, New Hampshire Tom Mutch, Boston College



ITECH "Three Stars" Award

Rush Zimmerman, Providence (Sr. F; Grosse Pointe, MI) Runner-up: Jaclyn Hawkins, Connecticut

Sportsmanship Award

Karen Thatcher, Providence (Jr. F; Douglas, MA) Runner-up: Sarah Carlson, Boston College