Noah Smith Director of Media Relations Hockey East Association

Phone: (781) 245-2122 Fax: (781) 245-2492 Cell: (617) 335-3709 nsmith@HockeyEastOnline.com WOMEN'S LEAGUE





FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: MARCH 14, 2003

WILDCATS EDGE FRIARS FOR TOP THREE AWARDS Friar Darlene Stephenson commended for sportsmanlike play

Though beaten by Providence by just one point in the final standings for the first-ever Women's Hockey East regular season title, the UNH Wildcats got the better of their Friar counterparts in the major individual awards categories. First-year head coach Brian McCloskey steered the 'Cats to a great rebound coming off a challenging 2001-02 season and was justifiably named CCM Coach of the Year. Jen Huggon, who posted an amazing nine shutouts in just 15 league games, was the league's first TPS Louisville Player of the Year, while teammate Lindsay Hansen got the slim nod over PC stopper Jana Bugden as ITECH Rookie of the Year.

Providence junior Darlene Stephenson was picked as the most sportsmanlike player. A Second Team All-Star, Stephenson combined a high skill level with a genuine respect for her opponents. The same was true of Sarah Engwall of Boston College, who got plenty of votes in this category and just missed beating Stephenson in the final tally.

TPS Louisville Player of the Year

Jen Huggon, New Hampshire (*Sr. G; Plymouth, MA*) Runner-up: Kelli Halcisak, Providence



ITECH Rookie of the Year Lindsay Hansen *(Fr. F; Northport, NY)* Runner-up: Jana Bugden, Providence



CCM Coach of the Year Brian McCloskey, New Hampshire Runner-up: Bob Deraney, Providence

Hockey East Scoring Champion

Kelli Halcisak, Providence (21 pts) (Jr. D; Grosse Ile, MI) Runners-up: Stephane Jones, New Hampshire Ashley Payton, Providence

ITECH Goaltending Champion

Jen Huggon, New Hampshire (0.89 GAA) (Sr. G; Plymouth, MA) Runner-up: Jana Bugden, Providence



ITECH "Three Stars" Award Jen Huggon, New Hampshire (0.89 GAA) *(Sr. G; Plymouth, MA)* Runner-up: Chanda Gunn, Northeastern

Sportsmanship Award

Darlene Stephenson, Providence College (Jr. F; Virden, MB) Runner-up: Sarah Engwall, Boston College