

PRESS RELEASE

contact: Brian Smith | bsmith@hockeyeastonline.com | 339.227.2988 | @brismi22 591 North Avenue #2 | Wakefield, MA | 01880 | 781.245.2122

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: MARCH 2, 2018

Women's Hockey East Names 2017-18 All-Star Teams

League Names First, Second Teams, Honorable Mentions at Championship Banquet

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The Women's Hockey East Association announced its 2017-18 all-star teams as voted by the league's nine head coaches Friday night at the conference's annual awards banquet ahead of the 16th annual Women's Hockey East Championship, March 3 and 4, at Matthews Arena on the campus of Northeastern University.

Four players were selected unanimously as 2017-18 Women's Hockey East First Team All-Stars, including Boston University senior forward **Victoria Bach** (Milton, Ont.) and a trio of Boston College Eagles including senior defenseman **Toni Ann Miano** (Bronx, N.Y.), sophomore forward **Caitrin Lonergan** (Roslindale, Mass.) and freshman forward **Daryl Watts** (Toronto, Ont.). First Team selections were rounded out by the Terriers' sophomore defenseman **Abby Cook** (Kelowna, B.C.), and UConn senior goaltender **Annie Belanger** (Sherbrooke, Que.).

Comprising Women's Hockey East All-Star Second Team are Boston College senior goaltender **Katie Burt** (Lynn, Mass.), Northeastern senior defenseman **Lauren Kelly** (Watertown, Mass.), Maine junior defenseman **Alyson Matteau** (Mirabel, Que.), Boston University senior forward **Rebecca Leslie** (Ottawa, Ont.), Providence freshman forward **Maureen Murphy** (Buffalo, N.Y.) and Maine sophomore forward **Tereza Vanišová** (Strakonice, Czech Republic).

Recognized as Women's Hockey East All-Star Honorable Mentions was goaltender **Carly Jackson** (Amherst N.S./ Maine), defensemen **Kate Friesen** (Altona, Man./Providence) and **Taylor Willard** (Naperville, Ill./Vermont), and forwards **Katelyn Rae** (Courtice, Ont./Merrimack), **Makenna Newkirk** (Scottsdale, Ariz./Boston College), and **Natale Snodgrass** (Eagan, Minn./UConn).

The 16th annual Women's Hockey East Tournament championship will take place this weekend, Saturday, March 3, and Sunday, March 4, at Northeastern University's Matthews Arena. No. 1 Boston College will square off with No. 7 UConn Saturday at 1:30 p.m., while No. 3 Maine and No. 4 Northeastern take the ice at 4:30 p.m. The winners advance to Sunday's championship tilt at 1:30 p.m. Fans can purchase tickets online at Tickets.GoNU.com or by calling 617-373-4700. Tickets start at just five dollars.

First Team	Pos.	Second Team
Annie Belanger, UConn (Sr.)	G	Katie Burt, BC (Sr.)
Abby Cook, BU (So.)	D	Lauren Kelly, NU (Sr.)
Toni Ann Miano, BC (Sr.) *	D	Alyson Matteau, Maine (Jr.)
Victoria Bach, BU (Sr.) *	F	Rebecca Leslie, BU (Sr.)
Caitrin Lonergan, BC (So.) *	F	Maureen Murphy, PC (Fr.)
Daryl Watts, BC (Fr.) *	F	Tereza Vanišová, Maine (So.)
		*denotes unanimous selection

2017-18 WOMEN'S HOCKEY EAST ALL-STARS

Honorable Mention

G: Carly Jackson, Maine

D: Kate Friesen, Providence

- D: Taylor Willard, Vermont
- F: Katelyn Rae, Merrimack

F: Makenna Newkirk, Boston College

F: Natalie Snodgrass, UConn

WHEA













