

HOCKEY EAST PLAYER OF THE YEAR



This honor is awarded by the head coaches to one player who has demonstrated superior play and leadership for his team. Makar caps off a historic 2018-19 season by becoming the first Massachusetts player to be named the Hockey East Player of the Year and the first defenseman to win the award outright since Chris Imes (Maine) collected the title in 1994-95. Mike Mottau (Boston College) shared the award with Ty Conklin (New Hampshire) in 1999-00. Makar currently lead the league in overall scoring, putting up 16 goals and 33 assists for 49 points, on his way to becoming the first defenseman since at least 1998-99 to pace Hockey East in that category. Among all players, his 49 overall points ranked tied for first in the NCAA. The sophomore also finished second in conference scoring, netting eight goals and a league-best 22 helpers for 30 points and had the best on-ice rating with a plus-21 in 24 league contests. Makar was named Hockey

East Player of the Week three times, once on back-to-back occasions (Oct. 15, Oct. 22) as well as on March 18, Hockey East Defensive Player of the Week on January 14 and March 4, and Hockey East Player of the Month for October and March/April. Named the only unanimous Hockey East First Team All-Star, Makar was also unanimously selected as Player of the Year and named the 2019 Hobey Baker winner.



Massachusetts' Cale Makar accepts the Player of the Year award from Commissioner Joe Bertagna

WALTER BROWN AWARD

The GridIron Club of Greater Boston presents this award to the best American-born college hockey player in New England.

Walter Brown Award History

Year	Player, School	Year	Player, School
1985	Tim Army, PC	2000	Mike Mottau, BC
1986	Scott Harlow, BC	2001	Ty Conklin, UNH
1987	Brian Leetch, BC		Brian Gionta, BC
1988	Mike McHugh, ME	2002	Jim Fahey, NU
1990	Greg Brown, BC	2003	Mike Ayers, UNH
1991	Dave Emma, BC	2004	Steve Saviano, UNH
1992	Rob Gaudreau, PC	2006	Chris Collins, BC
1993	Dave Sacco, BU	2007	John Curry, BU
1994	Jacques Joubert, BU	2008	Kevin Regan, UNH
1995	Mike Grier, BU	2009	Matt Gilroy, BU
1996	Jay Pandolfo, BU	2010	Bobby Butler, UNH
1997	Chris Drury, BU	2011	John Muse, BC
1998	Chris Drury, BU	2013	Steven Whitney, BC
1999	Mike Mottau, BC	2014	Johnny Gaudreau, BC
	Mike Omicioli, PC	2017	Joe Gambardella, UML
		2018	Adam Gaudette, NU

Cale Makar · Massachusetts

Sophomore Defenseman; Calgary, Alta.

2018-19	GP	G	Α	Р	+/-
Overall	41	16	33	49	+32
Hockey East	24	8	22	30	+21

PLAYER OF THE YEAR HISTORY

Season	Player	CI.	Pos.	Team
1984-85	Chris Terreri	Jr.	G	Providence
1985-86	Scott Harlow	Sr.	F	Boston College
1986-87	Brian Leetch	Fr.	D	Boston College
1987-88	Mike McHugh	Sr.	F	Maine
1988-89	Greg Brown	So.	D	Boston College
1989-90	Greg Brown	Jr.	D	Boston College
1990-91	David Emma #	Sr.	F	Boston College
1991-92	Scott Pellerin #	Sr.	F	Maine
1992-93	Paul Kariya #	Fr.	F	Maine
1993-94	Dwayne Roloson	Sr.	G	UMass Lowell
1994-95	Chris Imes	Sr.	D	Maine
1996-96	Jay Pandolfo	Sr.	F	Boston University
1996-97	Chris Drury	Jr.	F	Boston University
1997-98	Chris Drury #	Sr.	F	Boston University
1998-99	Jason Krog #	Sr.	F	New Hampshire
1999-00	Ty Conklin	So.	G	New Hampshire
	Mike Mottau #	Sr.	D	Boston College
2000-01	Brian Gionta	Sr.	F	Boston College
2001-02	Darren Haydar	Sr.	F	New Hampshire
2002-03	Mike Ayers	Jr.	G	New Hampshire
	Ben Eaves	Jr.	F	Boston College
2003-04	Steve Saviano	Sr.	F	New Hampshire
2004-05	Patrick Eaves	Jr.	F	Boston College
2005-06	Chris Collins	Sr.	F	Boston College
2006-07	John Curry	Sr.	G	Boston University
2007-08	Kevin Regan	Sr.	G	New Hampshire
2008-09	Brad Thiessen	Jr.	G	Northeastern
2009-10	Bobby Butler	Sr.	F	New Hampshire
2010-11	Paul Thompson	Sr.	F	New Hampshire
2011-12	Spencer Abbott	Sr.	F	Maine
2012-13	Johnny Gaudreau	So.	F	Boston College
2013-14	Johnny Gaudreau #	Jr.	F	Boston College
2014-15	Jack Eichel #	Fr.	F	Boston University
2015-16	Kevin Boyle	Sr.	G	UMass Lowell
	Thatcher Demko	Jr.	G	Boston College
2016-17	Zach-Aston Reese	Sr.	F	Northeastern
2017-18	Adam Gaudette #	Jr.	F	Northeastern
2018-19	Cale Makar #	So.	D	Massachusetts

denotes Hobey Baker winner





















