INDIVIDUAL HOCKEY EAST AWARDS

WARRIOR CAMMI GRANATO PLAYER OF THE YEAR



The Warrior Cammi Granato Player of the Year Award, renamed in 2008 to honor former Providence College superstar Cammi Granato, is awarded annually by the head coaches to a player who has demonstrated the most superior play and leadership for her team. Granato had a legendary career, establishing many scoring records for the Friars (139 goals in 99 games). She captured ECAC Player of the Year honors from 1991-93, while leading the team to back-to-back conference titles in 1992 and 1993. A 15-year member of the U.S. Women's National Tea,, Granato is the program's all-time scoring leader. She achieved international fame by captaining Team USA to the gold medal at the 1998 Olympic Winter Games.

Northeastern's Kendall Coyne spent her final year in a Husky uniform obliterating the Hockey East record books en route to winning the 2016 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, setting new standards for career points (167), career goals (91), single-season points (55), single season goals (30), points per game (2.39), and goals per game (1.30) while finishing her career ranked second all-time in career assists (76) and third all-time in single- season assists (25). The U.S. Olympian's 30 goals and 55 points in league play this year surpassed the previous best marks by five goals and seven points. She finished with 39 more points in career regular season play than anyone in league history prior to 2015-16, during which season three players broke Kelli Stack's mark of 133 points set in 2011. Coyne was named Warrior Hockey Player of the Week seven times (Sept. 28, Oct. 19, Nov. 2, Jan. 4, Jan. 11, Jan. 18, Feb. 29) and twice named Warrior Hockey Player of the Month (Sept./Oct., Jan.). Coyne currently leads the NCAA in goals (49), goals per game (1.40), points per game (2.34), short-handed goals (5), hat tricks (5), plus-minus (+64), shots on goal (338) and shots per game (9.36) while her 75 points rank second in the nation.

Player of the Year Award History

•		•
Season	Player	Pos.
2002-03	Jen Huggon, UNH	G
2003-04	Carolyn Gordon, UNH	F
	Chanda Gunn, NU	G
2004-05	Stephanie Jones, UNH	F
	Karen Thatcher, PC	F
2005-06	Sadie Wright-Ward, UNH	F
2006-07	Kelli Stack, BC	F
2007-08	Dominique Thibault, UConn	١F
2008-09	Kelli Stack, BC	F
2009-10	Kelly Paton, UNH	F
	Florence Schelling, NU	G
2010-11	Kelli Stack, BC	F
2011-12	Florence Schelling, NU	G
2012-13	Alex Carpenter, BC	F
2013-14	Sarah Lefort, BU	F
2014-15	Alex Carpenter, BC	F
2015-16	Kendall Coyne, NU	F

Rookie of the Year Award History

		- ,
Season	Player	Pos
2002-03	Lindsay Hansen, UNH	F
2003-04	Sonny Watrous, PC	F
2004-05	Jaclyn Hawkins, UConn	F
2005-06	Samantha Faber, UNH	F
2006-07	Kelli Stack, BC	F
2007-08	Jenn Wakefield, UNH	F
2008-09	Genevieve Lacasse, PC	G
2009-10	Kristina Lavoie, UNH	F
2010-11	Marie-Philip Poulin, BU	F
2011-12	Kendall Coyne, NU	F
2012-13	Haley Skarupa, BC	F
2013-14	Andie Anastos, BC	F
2014-15	Victoria Bach, BU	F
2015-16	Makenna Newkirk, BC	F

PRO AMBITIONS ROOKIE OF THE YEAR

Newkirk paced the league in nearly every offensive category among her freshman counterparts during her rookie campaign with 12 assists, 23 points, 0.50 assists per game, 0.96 points per game, eight power-play points, two game-winning goals, one hat trick and a plus-22 rating. Nationally, her 21 goals lead all NCAA rookies, while her 24 assists and 45 points are the second-best freshman totals in the country. She also boasts the best shooting percentage among first-year skaters, firing at an 19.8% clip. She had 11 multi-point outings in 36 games, including eight three-point performances. She was a four-time Pro Ambitions Rookie of the Week (Oct. 15, Nov. 9, Feb. 15, Feb. 29) during the season, helping



the Eagles to a perfect regular season (34-0-0, 24-0-0 HEA) and the third regular season title in program history.





This award is bestowed annually to a head coach who is considered to have demonstrated the highest number of significant accomplishments over the course of the season as voted by the conference's head coaches. Boston College's Katie King-Crowley earns Coache of the Year honors for the second straight season.

Crowley led the Eagles in a historic 2015-16 season, steering her club to its third consecutive Women's Hockey East regular season title and after each season garnering coach of the year honors. She has helped guide Boston College to their most wins in a season in school history (40) and goals scored in a season in school history

(205) after setting both of those marks during a 34-3-2 campaign in 2014-15. Further, BC has converted on 40 power plays, also a school record, and did not allow a power-play goal in non-conference play. During the 2015-16 season, Crowley skippered the Eagles to their fifth Beanpot title and into the Hockey East Tournament for the 11th time. She captured the school's second Hockey East Tournament title en route to reaching the NCAA Championship for the first time, ultimately falling to Minnesota, 3-1, to finish the season at 40-0-1.

Coach of the Year Award History

Season	<u>Coach</u>
2002-03	Brian McCloskey, UNH
2003-04	Joy Woog, NU
2004-05	Brian McCloskey, UNH
	Tom Mutch, BC
2005-06	Brian McCloskey, UNH
2006-07	Tom Mutch, BC
2007-08	Brian Durocher, BU
2008-09	Brian McCloskey, UNH
2009-10	Bob Deraney, PC
2010-11	Bob Deraney, PC
2011-12	Dave Flint, NU
	Maria Lewis, Maine
2012-13	Katie King Crowley, BC
2013-14	Katie King Crowley, BC
	Jim Plumer, UVM
2014-15	Katie King Crowley, BC
2015-16	Katie King Crowley, BC

















