

PETER SOURIS **Assistant Commissioner** for Public Relations **Hockey East Association**

591 North Ave - #2 Wakefield, MA 01880 Office: (781) 245-2122 Cell: (603) 512-1166 psouris@HockevEastOnline.com

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, September 29, 2010

~ UMASS' BROCK HINES NAMED RECIPIENT OF 2010 JOE CONCANNON AWARD ~

BOSTON - Hockey East Commissioner Joe Bertagna announced on Wednesday at the league's annual media day that UMass' Brock Hines has been named the 19th recipient of the prestigious Joe Concannon Hockey East Media Award.

Hines begins his 18th season in 2010-2011 serving as color commentator for the UMass Sports Network. Hines also hosts the intermission report and conducts pre-game and post-game interviews at the Mullins Center and on the road with the Minutemen. He started when the UMass program was resurrected in 1993.

Past radio experience for Hines includes hockey color commentary and football sideline reporting for Greenfield High School from 1989-1992. He just completed a 26-year run of hosting a weekly radio show at Deerfield's WGAJ-FM, In addition to his hockey duties at UMass, Hines also provided color for the Minutewomen basketball team during the 1999-2000 and 2000-01 seasons. In his tenure, he has teamed to win the Massachusetts Broadcaster award and a MA/RI Associated Press award for Best Sports Broadcast.

Hines is the president of the Albert B. Allen Insurance Agency in Greenfield where he has been since 1983 and is past president of the Professional Independent Insurance Agents of Franklin and Hampshire Counties. He and his wife Laurie reside in Montague, Mass.

Hines played and coached hockey for over 25 years. He graduated from Deerfield Academy in 1979 and with a finance degree from Babson College in 1983.

The award was renamed in memory of long-time Boston Globe Sportswriter Joe Concannon in 2001. Each recipient has demonstrated a superior body of work in covering and promoting Hockey East over an extended period.

The Hockey East Association is a 10-team Division I college men's hockey conference and an eight-team Division I women's league which began play in 2002-03. Founded in 1983, the men's league has won seven NCAA championships in the past 18 years.

HOCKEY EAST MEDIA AWARD HISTORY

Recipient, Affiliation Year

- Larry Mahoney, Bangor Daily News 1992
- 1993 Bob Whitelaw, New England Sports Network
- 1994 Bob Monahan, Boston Globe
- 1995 John Connolly, Boston Herald
- 1996 Charles Scoggins, Lowell Sun
- 1997 Bob Norton, New England Sports Network
- 1998 Joe Concannon, Boston Globe
- Dick Osborne, UNH Sports Network 1999
- 2000 Bill Doherty, Huskies Radio
- 2001 Dave Hendrickson, U.S. College Hockey Online
- 2002 Roger Brown, Portsmouth Herald Bernie Corbett, Giant Sports Associates 2003
- 2004 Rob Rudnick, Huskies Radio
- 2005
- Eric Frede, NESN / CodRock Media Dan Hannigan, WZON / CodRock Media 2006
- Allen Lessels, New Hampshire Union Leader 2007
- Mike Logan, Providence College Radio 2008
- 2009 Bob Ellis, UMass-Lowell Radio
- 2010 Brock Hines, UMass Sports Network

- HEA -