Hockey Commissioners' Association



For Immediate Release:

April 9, 2010

Contacts:

Brad Davis, Merrimack, (978) 837-5364 Pete Souris, Hockey East, (781) 245-2122

MERRIMACK'S STEPHANE DA COSTA TABBED NATIONAL COLLEGE HOCKEY ROOKIE OF THE YEAR

Wakefield, Mass.—The Hockey Commissioners' Association (HCA) announced today that Merrimack College forward Stephane Da Costa is the winner of the fourth annual HCA National Division I Rookie of the Year award.



Da Costa led the Warriors to one of their finest seasons in recent history as the offensive catalyst for a Div. I program-best 16 wins to go along with a sixth place finish in the Hockey East standings. He guided the team to their first playoff appearance since 2004, which included their first playoff victory since 1998. He also helped the team to a impressive 12-3-1 record at home, marking the most wins at home in one season in school history.

He was the first Merrimack player to be named Hockey East Rookie of the Year and he was the only unani-



mous selection to the Hockey East All-Rookie squad. Da Costa was a Second-Team Hockey East All-Star selection and he was one of three finalists for Hockey East Player of the Year, along with Hobey Baker Hat Trick finalists Bobby Butler from New Hampshire and Maine's Gustav Nyquist.

He amassed a team-high 45 points in his freshman season, which included a team-high 29 assists. Da Costa's 1.32 points per game were seventh best among Division I skaters and that average led all first-year players in NCAA Div. I hockey. He was the first five-time Hockey East Rookie of the Month in the 26-year history of the conference. His 45 points are a new freshman record at Merrimack and it's the most scored by any Warrior player since Rejean Stringer in the 1998-99 season.



In his second collegiate game he recorded five goals against Army on October 17 at Lawler Arena. He recorded at least one point in 26 of 34 games during the regular

season and posted 13 multi-point efforts for Merrimack College.

The Paris, France native finished 18 points ahead of the next first-year player in the Hockey East Rookie scoring race with 36 points (9g, 27a) in 26 league contests. His league play point total ranked third in the conference among all league skaters.



The HCA Rookie of the Year is selected in a vote by the assistant coaching staffs of all 58 NCAA Division I hockey teams. Players on the ballot receive five points for a first-place vote, three points for a second-place vote and one point for a third-place vote. Each conference's top rookie serves as their respective league's nominee.

Hockey Commissioners' Association 2009-10 Rookie of the Year

National Rookie of the Year

Stephane Da Costa, F, Merrimack College, HEA



Da Costa is the second consecutive recipient from the Hockey East Association, after BU's Kieran Millan took home the honor in 2009. The WCHA earned the first two honorees with St. Cloud's Andreas Nodl in 2007 and Colorado College's Richard Bachman in 2008.

Honorable Mention Rookie of the Year Jerry D'Amigo, F, Rensselaer, ECAC Jordan George, F, Bemidji State, CHA Danny Kristo, F, North Dakota, WCHA Andy Taranto, F, Alaska, CCHA Chris Tanev, D, RIT, AHA

Bob DeGregorio, Atlantic Hockey • Tom Anastos, Central Collegiate Hockey Association Ed McLaughlin, College Hockey America • Steve Hagwell, ECAC • Joe Bertagna, Hockey East Association • Bruce McLeod, Western Collegiate Hockey Association