

PRESS RELEASE

PETER SOURIS Director of Public Relations Hockey East Association

> 591 North Ave - #2 Wakefield. MA 01880 Office: (781) 245-2122 Cell: (603) 512-1166

psouris@HockeyEastOnline.com

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, March 17, 2010

HOCKEY EAST ANNOUNCES 2010 ALL-ROOKIE TEAM

~League also announces Seven Individual Award Winners~

WAKFIELD. Mass. - The Hockey East Association is pleased to announce today its 2009-10 All-Rookie Team. The first-year players will be honored alongside several individual award winners at Thursday's annual Championship awards night at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in Cambridge, Mass.

Merrimack's outstanding forward Stephane Da Costa (Paris, France) was the only unanimous selection on the squad, as chosen by the head coaches. Vermont's Sebastian Stålberg (Gothenburg, Sweden) was one of the two other forwards selected. The rest of the team had a distinctly Boston flavor. For Boston College, defenseman Brian Dumoulin (Biddeford, Maine) and forward Chris Kreider (Boxford, Mass.) were selected. In a sign of the changing times, two defensemen from California were chosen, Boston University's Max Nicastro (Thousand Oaks, Calif.) and Northeastern's Jake Newton (San Jacinto, Calif.). The Huskies' Chris Rawlings (North Delta, B.C.) was named the league's top first-year stopper.

Among the other individuals to be honored at Thursday's banquet will be UMass Lowell co-captain Ben Holmstrom (Colorado Springs, Col.), the Gladiator Hockey Best Defensive Forward. Another team co-captain, University of Massachusetts' Justin Braun (Vadnais Heights, Minn.) was chosen as the Old Time Hockey Best Defensive Defenseman. It is the first time a Minuteman player has won the award. Ben Smith (Avon, Conn.) became the first BC player since 1994 to win the Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award, named after the former Eagle player and coach. The award is given annually to the league player who has consistently played at a high level, while maintaining high standard of conduct both on and off the ice. The University of New Hampshire is the recipient of the Charlie Holt Team Sportsmanship Award as the squad with the fewest penalty minutes in league play (8.8 mpg).

UNH captain Bobby Butler (Marlboro, Mass.) and Maine sophomore Gustav Nyguist (Malmo, Sweden) shared the award as Humboldt Storage and Moving scoring champions with 41 points each in league play. Nyquist actually led the nation during the regular season with 55 points overall. Butler, meanwhile, was also the winner of the league's Three Stars Award, dominating all offensive players with 21 goals in Hockey East play. Only one other player potted more than 15. The Bauer goaltending champion, owning the best combined goaltending statistics, was UMass Lowell senior Carter Hutton (Thunder Bay, Ont.) who notched a 2.35 GAA on the strength of a .920 save percentage.

2010 PRO AMBITIONS ALL-ROOKIE TEAM

- Chris Rawlings, Northeastern (North Delta, B.C.)
- Brian Dumoulin, Boston College (Biddeford, Maine) D:
- D: Jake Newton, Northeastern (San Jacinto, Calif.)
- D: Max Nicastro, Boston University (Thousand Oaks, Calif.)
- F: Stephane Da Costa, Merrimack College * (Paris, France)
- F: Chris Kreider, Boston College (Boxford, Mass.)
- F: Sebastian Stålberg, Vermont (Gothenburg, Sweden)





Three Stars Award: Bobby Butler, New Hampshire

Old Time Hockey Best Defensive Defenseman: Justin Braun, Massachusetts

Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award: Ben Smith, Boston College

Humboldt Storage and Moving Scoring Champions: B. Butler, UNH/G. Nyquist, Maine, 41 pts.

Bauer Goaltending Champion: Carter Hutton, UMass-Lowell (2.35 GA, .920 save %) Gladiator Hockey Best Defensive Forward: Ben Holmstrom, UMass-Lowell

Charlie Holt Team Sportsmanship Award: New Hampshire Wildcats







unanimous selection