

PETER SOURIS Director of Public Relations Hockey East Association 591 North Ave – #2 Wakefield, MA 01880

591 North Ave – #2 Wakefield, MA 01880 Office: (781) 245-2122 Cell: (603) 512-1166 psouris@HockeyEastOnline.com

For Immediate Release: Friday, October 2, 2009

46 HOCKEY EAST ALUMNI FEATURED ON 09-10 NHL OPENING ROSTERS ~Boston College leads the way with 14 NHL'ers, Boston University right behind with 13~

Wakefield, Mass. - 46 Hockey East alumni were highlighted in the 2009-10 National Hockey League opening rosters, which were announced on Thursday by the league office.

Both Boston College (14) and Boston University (13) are well represented on NHL rosters, followed by Maine with seven and Vermont with six.

Six alumni that competed in Hockey East during the 08-09 season have earned a spot on opening day rosters, including: BC's Benn Ferriero (San Jose), BU's 2009 Hobey Baker Award Winner Matt Gilroy (New York Rangers), Vermont's Viktor Stålberg (Toronto), UNH's James van Riemsdyk (Philadephia), BU's Colin Wilson (Nashville) and Brandon Yip (Colorado).

The Hockey East Association is a 10-team Division I college men's hockey conference and an eight-team Division I women's league which began play in 2002-03. Founded in 1983, the men's league has won six NCAA championships in the past 17 years.

Here is the full listing, sorted by their Hockey East school affiliation:

Boston College (14) - Andrew Alberts (Carolina), Brian Boyle (NYR), Scott Clemmensen (Florida), Patrick Eaves (Detroit), Benn Ferriero (San Jose), Bill Guerin (Pittsburgh), Brian Gionta (Montreal), Peter Harrold (Los Angeles), Chuck Kobasew (Boston), Mike Mottau (New Jersey), Brooks Orpik (Pittsburgh), Marty Reasoner (Atlanta), Rob Scuderi (Los Angeles), Ryan Shannon (Ottawa).

Boston University (13) - Adrian Aucoin (Phoenix), Chris Bourque (Pittsburgh), Rick DiPietro (NYI), Chris Drury (NYR), Matt Gilroy (NYR), Mike Grier (Buffalo), Freddy Meyer (NYI), Jay Pandolfo (New Jersey), Tom Poti (Washington), Keith Tkachuk (St. Louis), Ryan Whitney (Anaheim), Colin Wilson (Nashville), Brandon Yip (Colorado).

Maine (7) - Ben Bishop (St. Louis), Brett Clark (Colorado), Ben Guite (Nashville), Jimmy Howard (Detroit), Paul Kariya (St. Louis), Dustin Penner (Edmonton), Teddy Purcell (Los Angeles).

Massachusetts (1) - Jon Quick (Los Angeles).

UMass-Lowell (2) - Ron Hainsey (Atlanta), Dwayne Roloson (NYI).

New Hampshire (3) - Ty Conklin (St. Louis), James van Riemsdyk (Philadelphia), Daniel Winnik (Phoenix).

Northeastern (1) - Michael Ryan (Carolina).

Providence (2) - Hal Gill (Montreal), Fernando Pisani (Edmonton).

Vermont (6) - Torrey Mitchell (San Jose), Patrick Sharp * (Chicago), Jaime Sifers (Minnesota), Viktor Stålberg (Toronto), Martin St. Louis * (Tampa Bay), Tim Thomas * (Boston).

* did not compete in Hockey East

- HEA -