

## PRESS RELEASE

## PETER SOURIS Director of Public Relations Hockey East Association

591 North Ave – #2 Wakefield, MA 01880 Office: (781) 245-2122 Cell: (603) 512-1166

psouris@HockeyEastOnline.com

## **Celebrating 25 Years of Success**

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, June 24, 2009

## PC'S LAMORIELLO AND BC'S LEETCH NAMED TO HOCKEY HALL OF FAME

**WAKEFIELD, Mass.** - Providence College's Lou Lamoriello and Brian Leetch of Boston College were part of the five-member 2009 Hockey Hall of Fame induction class, which was announced on Tuesday afternoon.

As a coach, Lamoriello `63 has more wins than any other hockey coach at Providence College. In the 15 seasons as head coach, the Providence native racked up 248 wins and saw 11 of his 15 teams qualify for post-season play with teams in 1978, 1981, and 1983 advance to the NCAA Tournament. Following that season, the popular coach stepped down to take over as athletic director on a full-time basis after assuming that role in July, 1982. He went on to become the driving force in forming the Hockey East Association and served as the league's first Commissioner from 1984-87. In June of 1987, he became the President and General Manager of the New Jersey Devils of the National Hockey League, where he has led them to three Stanley Cup titles (1995, 2000 and 2003). In addition, Lamoriello has guided the Devils to 873 regular season wins and 121 playoff victories.

Leetch played 18 years in the National Hockey League for the New York Rangers, Toronto and Boston. He amassed 1028 points (247g,781a) in 1205 career NHL contests. Leetch also won the Norris Trophy on two occasions, as the league's top defenseman in 1992 and 1997. Leetch won a Stanley Cup with the Rangers in 1994 and was also Conn Smythe Trophy recipient that year, as the Playoff MVP. In 1989, Leetch took home the Calder Trophy as the league's top rookie, just one season removed from his only season at Boston College. He posted 47 points (9g,38a) in 37 games for the Eagles in 1986-1987. Leetch becomes the first player in the conference's history to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

In addition to Lamoriello and Leetch, the 2009 Hockey Hall of Fame Class also includes former NHL greats Steve Yzerman, Brett Hull and Luc Robitaille. The induction ceremony will take place on November 9, 2009 in Toronto, Ontario.

- HockeyEastOnline.com -