

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April 2, 2009

Office of Sports Information

Jack Grinold, Associate AD Jon Litchfield, Director Thomas Chen, Assistant Director

Northeastern University 360 Huntington Avenue Boston, Massachusetts 02115 (617) 373-2691, (617) 373-3152 (fax)

> Contact: Jack Grinold (617) 373-2691

New England Div. I Men's Hockey All-Stars & Awards

The New England Hockey Writers All-Star teams and awards for Men's Division I have been released. The annual awards banquet will be held on Monday, April 13 at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass. The All-Star teams and special award winners will be presented. Coaches, student-athletes, family members and friends should plan on attending this function. Contact John Gruppo at (617) 373-7409 for information on attending this event. Cost is \$30 per person.

Northeastern University goaltender Brad Thiessen was named New England MVP and NU coach Greg Cronin was named Coach of the Year. Thiessen was in goal for every minute as Northeastern went 25-12-4, finished second in the Hockey East regular season and advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 1994. NU's Joe Vitale was named Best Defensive Forward.

Boston University took home three awards – goaltender Kieran Millan was named Rookie of the Year, Colin Wilson was named Best Forward and Matt Gilroy was named Best Defenseman. The Terriers won Hockey East and will play in the NCAA Frozen Four starting April 9.

New England's other Frozen Four participant – Vermont – was represented by Viktor Stålberg, who was named Most Improved Player. He went from a 10-13-23 scoring line in 2007-08 to a 24-21-45 scoring line this season.

Matt Vokes was named New England's Unsung Hero after posting an 11-17-28 scoring line for the 5-23-5 Bears. Trinity's John Dunham received the Parker/York Award for Contribution to New England hockey. He coached the Bantams for 33 years.

For more complete listings of All-Stars and awards, including extensive archives, check www.newenglandallstars.com.

2008-09 New E Goalies	Ingland Men's Div. I All-Stars Kieran Millan, Boston University Brad Thiessen, Northeastern	2008-09 New England Hockey Awards Clark Hodder Award – Div. I Coach of the Year Greg Cronin, Northeastern
Defense	Alex Biega, Harvard Maury Edwards, UMass Lowell Matt Gilroy, Boston University Kevin Shattenkirk, Boston University	Leonard Fowle Award – Most Valuable Player Brad Thiessen, Northeastern
		George C. Carens Award – Rookie of the Year Kieran Millan, Boston University
Forwards	Mark Arcobello, Yale Brock Bradford, Boston College James Marcou, Massachusetts Viktor Stålberg, Vermont Colin Wilson, Boston University James van Riemsdyk, New Hampshire	Herb Gallagher Award – Best Forward Colin Wilson, Boston University
		Bob Monahan Award – Best Defenseman Matt Gilroy, Boston University
		Paul Hines Award – Most Improved Player Viktor Stålberg, Vermont
		Frank Jones Award – Best Defensive Forward Joe Vitale, Northeastern

Joe Tomasello Award - Unsung Hero

Matt Vokes, Brown