

PRESS RELEASE

PETER SOURIS Director of Public Relations Hockey East Association

591 North Ave – #2 Wakefield, MA 01880 Office: (781) 245-2122 Cell: (603) 512-1166

psouris@HockeyEastOnline.com

Celebrating 25 Years of Success

For Immediate Release: Friday, March 13, 2009

HOCKEY EAST ANNOUNCES 25 TOP DEFENDERS DURING SILVER CELEBRATION

WAKEFIELD, Mass. - The Hockey East Association is pleased to announced the 25 Top Defenders, as the league continues its 25th Anniversary celebration. The 25 defenders were chosen in a vote comprised of Hockey East fans and members of the league's 25th Anniversary Committee.

The team was comprised of eight players from the University of Maine, four players from Boston College, four players from Northeastern University, three players from the University of New Hampshire, two players from Boston University, two players from UMass-Lowell and one player from the University of Masssachusetts and Providence College.

Headling the list were BC's Brian Leetch and UMass-Lowell's Dwayne Roloson as the two unanimous selections to the team. The list also includes; Greg Brown, Mike Mottau and Cory Schneider from Boston College, as well as John Curry and Tom Poti from Boston University. The Black Bears were well represented with a league-high eight players, which included: Bob Beers, Keith Carney, Mike Dunham, Jimmy Howard, Chris Imes, Peter Metcalf, Garth Snow and Eric Weinrich. Thomas Pock represented the Massachusetts Minutemen.

A trio of goalies represented UNH, as Mike Ayers, Ty Conklin and Kevin Regan were all named to the team. Ron Hainsey from UMass-Lowell also carried the defensive flag for the River Hawks, while Northeastern's Rob Cowie, Jim Fahey and Dan McGillis were also honored. Providence's Chris Terreri, who was named the conference's Top All-time Goalie, represented the Friars on the defensive side.

Honorable Mention on the Top Defenders Team included: Chris Therrien (PC), Andrew Alberts (BC), Jack Capuano (Maine), Rick DiPietro (BU) and Joe Fallon (Vermont).

Hockey East's Top 25 defenders were chosen by a fan vote through the league's official website – HockeyEastOnline.com - and votes from Hockey East's 25th Anniversary Committee, which includes representatives from each Hockey East school.

Throughout the season, fans have cast their ballots for Hockey East's All-Time Team, Top 25 Forwards, and Top 25 Defenders.

In addition to these major categories, a number of other ballot questions appeared at regular intervals throughout the year. All fan voting is now complete.

The league has already announced the results of nine previous polls conducted during the 25th anniversary celebration, including: Top Goalie (Chris Terreri - PC), Best Goal Scorer (Brian Gionta - BC), Best Playmaker (Paul Kariya - Maine), Best Defensive Defenseman (Brian Leetch - BC), Best Defensive Forward (Chris Drury - BU), the Naukabout Unsung Player (Scott Clemmensen – BC), Humboldt Storage and Moving Top-3 Best Coaching Performances, Top-3 Most Memorable Moments and the SwingJuice Top-3 Best Individual Performances.

HOCKEY EAST TOP 25 DEFENDERS

(Defensemen and Goaltenders) Greg Brown, D, Boston College Brian Leetch, D, Boston College Mike Mottau, D, Boston College Cory Schneider, G, Boston College John Curry, G. Boston University Tom Poti, D. Boston University Bob Beers, D, Maine Keith Carney, D. Maine Mike Dunham, G, Maine Jimmy Howard, G, Maine Chris Imes, D. Maine Peter Metcalf, D, Maine Garth Snow, G, Maine Eric Weinrich, D, Maine Mike Ayers, G, New Hampshire Ty Conklin, G, New Hampshire Kevin Regan, G. New Hampshire

Thomas Pock, D, Massachusetts Ron Hainsey, D, UMass-Lowell Dwayne Roloson, G, UMass-Lowell Rob Cowie, D, Northeastern Jim Fahey, D, Northeastern Dan McGillis, D, Northeastern Bruce Racine, G, Northeastern Chris Terreri, G, Providence

Honorable Mention

Chris Therrien, D, Providence Andrew Alberts, D, Boston College Jack Capuano, D, Maine Rick DiPietro, G, Boston University Joe Fallon, G, Vermont

- HockeyEastOnline.com -