

PRESS RELEASE

PETER SOURIS Director of Public Relations Hockey East Association

591 North Ave – #2 Wakefield, MA 01880 Office: (781) 245-2122 Cell: (603) 512-1166

psouris@HockeyEastOnline.com

Celebrating 25 Years of Success

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, March 18, 2009

HOCKEY EAST ANNOUNCES 2008-09 ALL-ROOKIE TEAM ~League also announces Eight Individual Award Winners~

WAKEFIELD, Mass. - The Hockey East Association announced on Wednesday its All-Rookie Team for the 2008-09 season, as well as several other awards, which will be presented at the 25th annual Hockey East Awards Banquet at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in Cambridge, Mass.

Goaltender Kieran Millan (Edmonton, Alb.) and forward Chris Connolly (Duluth, Minn.) represented the Boston University Terriers on the first-year squad, while Northeastern's Steve Quailer (Arvada, Colo.) and UMass-Lowell's David Vallorani (Hamitlon, Ont.) were named two of the forwards on the team.

Millan has helped the Terriers to a first-place finish in league play and a No. 1 national ranking. In conference action, Millan recorded a 1.80 GAA with a .923 save percentage and a 15-1-3 record for a 86.8% winning percentage in conference games. Connolly ranked third among league rookies with 19 points was tied with Vallorani and his eight goals in league action were tied for first. Quailer amassed 14 points in conference action, helping the Huskies to a second place finish in the standings.

Gustav Nyquist (Malmo, Sweden) from the Maine Black Bears and UMass forward Casey Wellman (Brentwood, Calif.) were also honored up front. The lone defenseman to make the All-Rookie Team was Karl Stollery (Camrose, Alb.) from Merrimack College. Nyquist posted 17 points in his first season on the Orono campus, while Wellman led all league first-year players with 25 points for the Minutemen. Stollery notched 15 points (5g,10a) as the leading blueliner in the conference.

In addition to the All-Rookie Team, Hockey East also honored Northeastern's Louis Liotti (Westbury, N.Y.) as the Old Time Hockey Best Defensive Defenseman, while teammate Joe Vitale (St. Louis, Mo.) was named the Best Defensive Forward.

Vermont forward Dean Strong (Mississauga, Ont.) was voted by the league's coaches as the winner of the Sportsmanship Award, while UNH senior forward Alan Thompson (Gilford, N.H.) earned the 2009 Turfer Athletic Award, presented annually to an individual, coach or team who best represents the core values of Turfer Athletic; tenacity, commitment and innovation. Thompson has recovered from several career threatening injuries, has remained a tireless worker and positive contributor for the Wildcats playing in 31 games overall this season, after playing in only seven games in his first three seasons. Strong only took three penalties for six minutes, as he played in all 27 league games for the Catamounts.

Providence College was bestowed the honor of the Charlie Holt Sportsmanship Award for the fewest penalty minutes per game in conference play. The Friars only averaged 10.4 penalty minutes per game in 2008-2009.

Northeastern's Brad Thiessen finished the year as the ITECH Goaltending Champion and he also won the Hockey East "Three Stars" Award. Thiessen posted a 2.09 GAA and a .932 save percentage, playing in all 27 league games for the Huskies. He also was named a Star of the Game 15 times on the year, which included the games No. 1 star on four occasions. UMass' James Marcou (Kings Park, N.Y.) and BU's Colin Wilson were Co-Scoring Champions with 35 points in league contests.

PRO AMBITIONS ALL-ROOKIE TEAM

G: Kieran Millan (Edmonton, Alb.) D: Karl Stollery (Camrose, Alb.) F: Chris Connolly (Duluth, Minn.) F: Gustav Nyquist (Malmo, Sweden) F: Steve Quailer (Arvada, Colo.)

F: Steve Qualier (Arvada, Colo.) F: Casey Wellman (Brentwood, Calif.) F: David Vallorani (Hamilton, Ont.) Boston University Merrimack Boston University Maine Northeastern Massachusetts UMass-Lowell



AWARD
OTH Best Defensive Defenseman:
Best Defensive Forward:
Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award:
Turfer Athletic Award:
ITECH Goaltending Champion:
Co-Scoring Champions:

Three Stars Award: Charlie Holt Team Sportsmanship Award: PLAYER
Louis Liotti
Joe Vitale
Dean Strong
Alan Thompson
Brad Thiessen
James Marcou
Colin Wilson
Brad Thiessen
Providence College

SCHOOL
Northeastern
Northeastern
Vermont
New Hampshire
Northeastern
Massachusetts
Boston University
Northeastern

FEBRU

- HockeyEastOnline.com -