



PETER SOURIS Director of Public Relations Hockey East Association

591 North Ave – #2 Wakefield, MA 01880 Office: (781) 245-2122 Cell: (603) 512-1166 psouris@HockeyEastOnline.com

For Immediate Release: Saturday, February 14, 2009

HOCKEY EAST ANNOUNCES MOST MEMORABLE MOMENTS DURING 25TH CELEBRATION

WAKEFIELD, Mass. - The Hockey East Association is pleased to announce the Top-Three Most Memorable Moments in Hockey East history, as the league continues its 25th Anniversary celebration. These moments were chosen in a vote comprised of Hockey East fans and members of the league's 25th Anniversary Committee.

Earning the most votes was the historic first-ever Hockey East Tournament victory by the Providence College Friars in 1985. Backstopped by Hockey East Player of the Year and Tournament MVP Chris Terreri, the third-seeded Friars defeated number two Boston University, 5-2, in the semifinals and earned the inaugural league title with a thrilling 2-1 double-overtime victory against topseeded Boston College. Terreri made 65 saves in the victory and the memorable overtime goal was scored by Steve Rooney.

Coming in at second place on the list was the 1999 NCAA Frozen Four which was held at "The Pond" in Anaheim, Calif. and featured three Hockey East schools – Boston College, Maine and New Hampshire. In the semifinals, the Black Bears topped Boston College, 2-1, in overtime, and New Hampshire dispatched Michigan State, 5-3, to set up the second All-Hockey East NCAA title game. The Wildcats rallied from a two-goal deficit to force overtime, but Marcus Gustafsson would strike in the extra session to give Maine a 3-2 win and its second National Championship.

Rounding out the Top-3 is the 1993 NCAA championship game played at Milwaukee's Bradley Center in which Maine became Hockey East's first-ever National Champion. Maine's near-perfect season was on the line as the Black Bears trailed Lake Superior State, 4-2, entering the third period, but a change of goaltenders and a three-goal third period – with Frozen Four Most Outstanding Player Jim Montgomery scoring all three goals – gave Maine the title with a 5-4 victory. Maine finished the season with an astounding record of 42-1-2.

"Given the number of young fans we see at our games, it's nice to see that these three moments from so many years ago remain fixed in fans' memories," said Hockey East Commissioner Joe Bertagna.

Hockey East's Most Memorable Moments were chosen by a fan vote through the league's official website – HockeyEastOnline. com - and votes from Hockey East's 25th Anniversary Committee, which includes representatives from each Hockey East school.

Throughout the season, fans can cast their ballots for Hockey East's All-Time Team, Top 25 Forwards, and Top 25 Defenders. In addition to these major categories, the conference will unfold a number of other ballot questions at regular intervals throughout the year. The next short-term ballot will begin on February 12 and run through February 22. At that time, fans will be able to cast their votes for "Hockey East's Best Individual Performance."

The league has already announced six award winners during the 25th anniversary celebration, including: Top Goalie (Chris Terreri - PC), Best Goal Scorer (Brian Gionta - BC), Best Playmaker (Paul Kariya - Maine), Best Defensive Defenseman (Brian Leetch - BC), Best Defensive Forward (Chris Drury - BU) and Unsung Player (Scott Clemmensen – BC).

- HockeyEastOnline.com -