

## MEN'S PRESS RELEASE

PETER SOURIS
Director of Public Relations
Hockey East Association

591 North Ave - #2 Wakefield, MA 01880 Office: (781) 245-2122

Cell: (603) 512-1166 psouris@HockeyEastOnline.com

Celebrating 25 Years of Success

For Immediate Release: Monday, January 19, 2009

## **19 HOCKEY EAST PLAYERS NOMINATED FOR HOBEY BAKER AWARD**

**WAKEFIELD, Mass.** - The Hobey Baker committee launched its annual Fan Voting online last Friday and 19 players Hockey East players have been selected for the online portion of the fan vote.

The highly popular fan-voting phase is now open by visiting the Hobey Baker website: hobeybaker.com. Click on the Vote for Hobey Baker icon and follow the prompts to make your selection from this year's outstanding crop of college hockey players.

The league players include; BC's Brock Bradford (Burnaby, B.C.), Benn Ferriero (Essex, Mass.) and Tim Filangieri (Islip Terrace, N.Y.), BU's Matt Gilroy (North Bellemore, N.Y.), Brandon Yip (Maple Ridge, B.C.), Colin Wilson (Winnipeg, Man.), UMass' Justin Braun (Vadnais Heights, Minn.), Cory Quirk (Brockton, Mass.) and James Marcou (Kings Park, N.Y.).

UMass-Lowell will be represented by Scott Campbell (Navan, Ont.), Carter Hutton (Thunder Bay, Ont.) and Nick Schaus (Orchard Park, N.Y.), while Merrimack's Rob Ricci (Brampton, Ont.) was also nominated for the award. UNH's James van Riemsdyk (Middletown, N.J.), along with Brad Thiessen (Aldergrove, B.C.) and Joe Vitale (St. Louis, Mo.) from Northeastern were nominated. To round out the Hockey East field, Providence's John Cavanagh (Warwick, R.I.) and Vermont's Peter Lenes (Shelburne, Vt.) and Viktor Stålberg (Gothenburg, Sweden) were among the 19 Hockey East players chosen.

This first phase of fan balloting will run now through March 8th, 2009. Phase two of fan balloting will then begin on March 20 from the list of Top Ten Hobey Baker finalists. The fans' vote accounts for a full 1% of the total ballot in each phase in selecting this year's award recipient.

Award criteria include candidates mimicking the superlative character traits put forth by the award's namesake, Hobey Baker, a World War I flying star better known as America's greatest amateur athlete in his day. Award candidates must exhibit strength of character both on and off the ice, contribute to the integrity of his team and display outstanding skills in all phases of the game. Consideration should be given to scholastic achievement and sportsmanship.

The 2009 Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced from a field of three Hobey Hat Trick finalists on Friday, April 10, 2009 during the NCAA Frozen Four Championships in Washington, DC. The 29th annual award announcement honoring college hockey's top player will be televised live during prime time on ESPNU.

## Key Hobey Baker announcement dates for 2009 include:

Top Ten list of candidates: March 19
Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists: April 2
Hobey Baker Award winner: April 10

- HockeyEastOnline.com -