

Pete Souris Director of Public Relations Hockey East Association

591 North Ave – #2 Wakefield, MA 01880 Office: (781) 245-2122 Cell: (603) 512-1166 psouris@HockeyEastOnline.com

For Immediate Release: Tuesday, Sept. 25, 2007

ALLEN LESSELS NAMED 2007 CONCANNON MEDIA AWARD WINNER

BOSTON – Hockey East Commissioner Joe Bertagna is pleased to announce that the 2007 recipient of the Joe Concannon Hockey East Media Award is Allen Lessels of the New Hampshire Union Leader.

Lessels has covered college hockey for the last 18 seasons, primarily covering the University of New Hampshire Wildcat hockey teams. He has covered UNH for the Union Leader since 2002, covering games as well as writing a weekly Wildcat notebook.

He went to his first Frozen Four in Detroit in 1990 and then went to 10 straight from 1995 to 2004. Lessels has Hockey East teams in regionals in East Lansing, Madison, Ann Arbor, Minneapolis, Albany, Worcester and Manchester during those years. Lessels had covered UNH teams with Bruce Crowder, Gordie Clark, Jamie Hislop, Cap Raeder, Ralph Cox since he started as a UNH undergrad in the mid-70's.

Lessels has won the prestigious New Hampshire Sports Writer of the Year Award six times, including each of the last three years.

He also worked for the Boston Globe from 1988 to 2001 covering New England college hockey as well as the four major professional teams in the Boston area to go along with the 10 years of reporting on the U.S. Open tennis tournament.

Lessels has also covered auto racing for 15 years at New Hampshire International Speedway (NHIS) and he wrote a book, "Live Free Drive Fast" a behind the scenes look at New Hampshire International Speedway which debuted in 2006.

The Hockey East Media Award was officially renamed in June of 2001 to honor Joe Concannon, a long-time Boston Globe staff writer and the recipient of the 1998 Media Award. Each season, the league's sports information directors forward a list of nominees for consideration. A committee representing the league's administrators, coaches and SIDs vote to name the recipient of the award. Each recipient has demonstrated a superior body of work in covering and promoting Hockey East over an extended period.

- HOCKEYEASTONLINE.COM -